Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Intervention


The Church Starfish Hybrid Stereo SACD

The Church

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Artist-Approved Expanded Edition On SACD!
Mastered Direct-to-DSD From The Original Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound!
Includes 8 Amazing Bonus Tracks Not On The Original Release!

Intervention Records is proud to announce that The Church's 1988 smash Starfish arrives on remastered Hybrid CD/SACD in May 2021.

Starfish is a dreamy, atmospheric masterpiece, guitar-driven alt-rock before alt-rock was a term. It includes the timeless smash hit "Under The Milky Way", and "Reptile", both First Wave staples.

Intervention's Artist-Approved Expanded Edition CD/SACD is 18-tracks total, including 8 amazing bonus tracks not on the original release. These bonus tracks kick off with wonderful acoustic versions of "Under The Milky Way" and "Antenna". The other tracks are so strong it's very apparent that Starfish could have been a potent double LP.

Starfish is Mastered Direct-to-DSD from THE Original Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. Intervention's cut opens up the already massive soundstage and presents this amazing recording with FULL bass extension and dynamic power. All of the 8 bonus tracks are Mastered Direct-to-DSD from analog tapes assembled by Ryan K. Smith.

Starfish's album art was lovingly restored by Intervention's Art Director Tom Vadakan.

'Under the Milky Way,' still one of the most haunting and elegant songs ever to make the Top 40.


  • Artist-Approved Expanded Edition
  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Mastered Direct-to-DSD From Original Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
  • Album art lovingly restored by Tom Vadakan
  • Super jewel box packaging
  • 8 Bonus Tracks not on the original release, mastered Direct-to-DSD from analog tapes assembled by Ryan K. Smith
  • Disc made in Germany


  1. Destination
  2. Under The Milky Way
  3. Blood Money
  4. Lost
  5. North, South, East And West
  6. Spark
  7. Antenna
  8. Reptile
  9. A New Season
  10. Hotel Womb
  11. Under The Milky Way (Acoustic) [Bonus Track]
  12. Antenna (Acoustic) [Bonus Track]
  13. Frozen And Distant [Bonus Track]
  14. Texas Moon [Bonus Track]
  15. Anna Miranda [Bonus Track]
  16. Afterlife [Bonus Track]
  17. We Both Know Why You're Here [Bonus Track]
  18. Perfect Child [Bonus Track]

Customers Also Like