Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Cowboy Junkies Whites Off Earth Now Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP

Cowboy Junkies

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
MFSL 1-292
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Out Of Print! Only a few copies left!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Numbered, Limited to 3000 copies!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the November 2009 Issue of Stereophile!

Upon its release in 1986, the Cowboy Junkies’ riveting debut sounded like nothing else at the time. Gloriously, it still doesn’t. Haunting, harrowing, eerie, and gorgeous, the soft-toned album reinterprets eight classic blues in a ghostly manner that combines Delta traditions, European classical minimalism, roots country, and thoroughly understated ambience.

The album’s spare, hyper-realistic approach stood as a proud contrast (and still does) to the overly polished, studio-slick blues, pop, and rock efforts mainlined out of high-tech studios. Recorded in just seven hours with an ambisonic microphone, Whites Off Earth Now!! is one of the most acoustically resplendent and dynamically rich records ever cut. The Canadian band’s intentional attempt to reclaim purity has made WOEN a cult classic and audiophile favorite.

Comprised of three siblings and a bassist friend, Cowboy Junkies stuck to songs that they had been playing live since 1985 when it came time to solidify their existence with an actual album. They favored potent standards such as Robert Johnson’s “Me and the Devil Blues” and “Crossroads,” John Lee Hooker’s “Decoration Day” and “Forgive Me,” Bruce Springsteen’s “State Trooper,” and Big Joe Williams’ “Baby Please Don’t Go.” In the Junkies’ hands, these tunes take on newfound ethereal power and riveting danger. Sung in a hushed lullaby voice by singer Margo Timmins, lyrical meanings change and emotional chills increase. Subtle illusions of calmness hold steady, but droning guitars and short bursts of bruised feedback generate a tension that drives these songs into our subconscious.

Disgusted with what they rightly perceived as the contrived, overly processed sound of 80s recordings, the group agreed to let producer/engineer Peter Moore experiment with an unconventional recording technique. The decision proved a stroke of genius. Set up in an uncomfortably hot garage padded with carpets and materials to dampen echoes, the foursome gathered around a single Caltrec Ambisonic Microphone—the quartet recorded direct-to-two-track. The results are magical, the natural and unimpeded sound that audiophiles dream about.

Mastered from the original tapes by Mobile Fidelity, this numbered limited-edition 180-gram LP captures every last finite detail and note. Microdynamics and sonic cues abound. The sticking together of Timmins’ lips from the heat and sweat right before she begins to sing on both Johnson tunes; the sound of drummer Pete Timmins putting his sticks down at the end of “I’ll Never Get Out of These Blues Alive”; myriad creaks, shuffles, and vibrations. What was a stunning headphone record is now an unreal stereo experience. This is what in-the-room presence is all about; albums don’t get more realistic-sounding. The sense of space is staggering.

• Numbered, Limited to 3000 copies!
• 180g Vinyl
• Special Static Free - Dust Free Inner Sleeve
• Heavy Duty Protective Packaging
• Gatefold Jacket

1. Shining Moon
2. State Trooper
3. Me And The Devil
4. Decoration Day
5. Baby Please Don't Go
6. I'll Never Get Out Of These Blues Alive
7. Take Me
8. Forgive Me
9. Crossroads

Recorded Live At Studio 547 On June 28, 1986 On A Digital Two Track Using Only A Calrec Ambisonic Microphone.

Customers Also Like