Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Dick Hyman Trio You're My Everything Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Dick Hyman Trio

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Virtuoso Jazz Pianist Plays The Harry Warren Songbook on SACD!
Includes 3 Bonus Tracks!

Throughout a busy musical career that got underway in the early '50s, Dick Hyman has functioned as pianist, organist, arranger, music director, and composer. His versatility in all of these areas has resulted in film scores, orchestral compositions, concert appearances and well over 100 albums recorded under his own name. While developing a masterful facility for improvisation in his own piano style, Mr. Hyman has also investigated ragtime and the earliest periods of jazz and has researched and recorded the piano music of Scott Joplin, Jelly Roll Morton, James P. Johnson, Zez Confrey, Eubie Blake and Fats Waller, which he often features in his frequent recitals. Other solo recordings include the music of Irving Berlin, Harold Arlen, Cole Porter, George Gershwin, Richard Rodgers and Duke Ellington. Some of his recordings with combos are From The Age Of Swing, Swing Is Here, Cheek To Cheek, and If Bix Played Gershwin, plus numerous duet albums with Ruby Braff, Ralph Sutton, Shelly Berg, Ken Peplowski and others.

His debut album for Venus Records is a Harry Warren songbook. Supported expertly by bassist Jay Leonhart and drummer Chuck Redd, Hyman performs these evergreens such as "You're My Everything" and "42nd Street" with vigor and inventiveness. The tone of his piano is beautiful.

"With Hyman, we see a truly unique specimen of jazz. He has a brain that functions as a sort of comprehensive jazz encyclopedia. Along with that, he is a pianist with the skills to demonstrate perfectly almost every known technique and style to emerge during the course of the genre's 100 year-plus history." - Graham L. Flanagan, AllAboutJazz

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Dick Hyman, piano
Jay Leonhart, bass
Chuck Redd, drums

1. You're My Everything (H. Warren)
2. 42nd Street (H. Warren)
3. At Last (H. Warren)
4. I Found A Million Dollar Baby (H. Warren)
5. I Only Have Eyes For You (H. Warren)
6. September In The Rain (H. Warren)
7. Serenade In Blue (H. Warren)
8. The More I See You (H. Warren)
9. There Will Never Be Another You (H. Warren)
10. We're In The Money (H. Warren)
11. You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby (H. Warren)
Bonus Tracks:
12. Old Man Mazurka (D. Hyman)
13. Theme From The Purple Rose (D. Hyman)
14. My Favorite Things (R. Rodgers)

Recorded at Avatar Studio in New York on April 26 & 27, 2010

Customers Also Like