Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Don Rendell-Ian Carr Quintet Shades Of Blue 180g LP

The Don Rendell-Ian Carr Quintet

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Legendary UK Jazz Combo On 180g Vinyl LP!
First Ever Official Individual Reissue!
Mastered From The Original Master Tapes at Abbey Road Studios!

Due to overwhelming demand for Jazzman Records' five-LP boxset, here are the first ever official individual reissues of all five of the iconic Lansdowne recording sessions by the legendary UK jazz combo, the Don Rendell-Ian Carr Quintet.

The five albums - 1965's Shades Of Blue, 1966's Dusk Fire, 1968's Phase III, 1969's Change Is, and 1969's Live - have reached almost mythical status in the collector's world. Regarded as holy grail artifacts for even the seasoned aficionado, the collective second-hand market value comes to an astonishing £6000. Jazzman Records located and acquired the original analog master tapes from the Universal vaults and created masters at Abbey Road Studios to produce audiophile quality 180 gram pressings replete with replica artwork -- shape, design, and even paper stock. No stone has been left unturned to deliver this absolute labor of love to the highest possible standard. Inside is a link to a printable online pdf which contains never before seen photographs, interviews with the remaining living band members and liner notes from BBC Radio 3 presenter, and award-winning jazz writer Alyn Shipton.

The band played together for seven years and during this fruitful time they made a plethora of deeply melodic, post-bop British jazz compositions that later on took influences from Indo and more spiritually guided jazz. Produced by the influential Denis Preston and recorded at his Lansdowne Studios in London, the band was primarily made up of saxophonist Don Rendell, trumpeter/composer Ian Carr, and pianist/composer Michael Garrick. This is UK jazz at its absolute finest and is a treasure not to be missed.

"UK-based Jazzman Records has delivered one of the most important and substantial troves." - Downbeat

"Musically, British Jazz was in a good place at this time, and even today the Rendell/Carr Quintet is referenced as the best small group in British Jazz. Credit to Jazzman for this impressive reissue package." - Jazzwise

"British jazz would never again witness a group quite as consistently, effervescently brilliant." - Record Collector

"This collection is a fascinating document of a band's evolution in real time. Each record builds on its predecessor and the members take inspiration from a wide variety of sources, but manage to do their own thing at the same time. This is a catalogue worthy of (re)discovery." - NYC Jazz Record

• 180g Vinyl
• First ever official individual reissue
• Fully licensed reissue
• Mastered at Abbey Road from original analogue master tapes
• Authentic custom flipback sleeve with original artwork
• Poly-lined and printed individual inner sleeve
• Includes link to online PDF with printable liner notes, interviews and never-before-seen photos
• Made in the EU
• Import

Don Rendell, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
Ian Carr, trumpet, flugelhorn
Colin Purbrook, piano
Dave Green, bass
Trevor Tomkins, drums

Side One:

1. Blue Mosque
2. Latin Blue
3. Just Blue
4. Sailin'
Side Two:
1. Garrison '64
2. Blue Doom
3. Shades Of Blue
4. Big City Strut

Customers Also Like