Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Elektra
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 10"


The Doors London Fog 1966 Numbered Limited Edition 10" Vinyl & CD Box Set

The Doors

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
50th Anniversary Collector's Numbered Limited Edition 10" Vinyl & CD Box Set!
Recently Discovered Live Recordings, the earliest known to exist, available for the First Time!

Before The Doors took the music scene by storm in 1967, they were the house band at the London Fog, a Sunset Strip dive bar located just footsteps away from the world famous Whisky a Go Go, the future home of many of the band’s most legendary performances. The Doors have opened a virtual time capsule with London Fog 1966, a Collector’s Numbered Limited Edition box set that features unearthed audio recorded at the club in May 1966. Previously unreleased and not even known to exist until recently, this marks the earliest recordings of the band and finds the quartet mixing blues covers with early versions of Doors originals. London Fog 1966 is the first of many special activities and releases coming to celebrate The Doors’ 50th Anniversary in 2017.

London Fog 1966 is available as an individually numbered limited edition of 18,000 copies while supplies last. Presented in a lift-top package designed to look like a vintage storage box, the set features seven songs on both CD and a 10-inch record that’s made to resemble a test pressing. Noted Doors engineer Bruce Botnick recently mastered the audio for this collection.

Along with the unreleased music, the set is packed with memorabilia and historic liner notes to provide a true time capsule of that fabled night at the London Fog, including a postcard, the set list handwritten by John Densmore, a program for the Royce Hall UCLA student film screening, plus a London Fog coaster. There are also liner notes included from Sunset Strip legend Ronnie Haran-Mellen, who was the talent booker at the Whisky a Go Go. Haran-Mellen saw The Doors live for the first time at the London Fog and then booked them as the permanent house band at the Whisky, leading to the band’s signing to Elektra and meteoric rise to superstardom.

Also contributing liner notes is Nettie Pena, one of the lucky few to be in attendance at the London Fog for this fabled show. Pena was a pivotal force in this release coming together as she captured the audio on a 1/4” reel to reel recorder. Pena also photographed the band that evening and five black and white 8x10 reprints of these unpublished photos are included in the Collector’s Edition, featuring a fresh-faced Morrison on a cramped stage with John Densmore, Robby Krieger and Ray Manzarek.

The show featured on London Fog 1966 took place the same year that The Doors recorded their eponymous debut. Released in January 1967, the album would become one of the most influential in rock history. Like many of the band’s early concerts, the show captured on this deluxe set reflects the group’s deep love for the blues with covers of standards like Muddy Waters’ “Rock Me” and “I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man.” The set also includes raw performances of “Baby, Please Don’t Go” (Big Joe Williams), “Don’t Fight It” (Wilson Pickett), and “Lucille” (Little Richard).

During their residency at the London Fog, The Doors frequently worked out new songs on stage that would eventually appear on various studio albums. At this show, the band played two originals. The first, “Strange Days,” would become the title track for the band’s second studio album, which also came out in 1967. This is one of the only known live recordings of this track. The other Doors original, “You Make Me Real,” wasn’t officially released on a studio album until Morrison Hotel in 1970.

“To hear ‘Strange Days,’ that came out on their second album, in almost final shape so early on was truly amazing,” says Jac Holzman, the President of Elektra Records who signed The Doors to their first recording contract.

London Fog 1966 is released in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of The Doors in 2017.

• 10" Vinyl & CD
• 50th Anniversary Collector's Numbered Limited Edition Box Set
• Previously unreleased material
• Five Black & White 8"x10" Prints of Unseen Photos
• Handwritten Set List by John Densmore
• New essays form people that attended the show
• Postcard, Program & Coaster

10" Vinyl:
Side A:

1. Tuning (I)
2. Rock Me
3. Baby Please Don't Go
4. You Make Me Real
Side B:
5. Tuning (II)
6. Don't Fight It
7. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
8. Strange Days
9. Lucille

1. Tuning (I)
2. Rock Me
3. Baby Please Don't Go
4. You Make Me Real
5. Tuning (II)
6. Don't Fight It
7. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
8. Strange Days
9. Lucille

Customers Also Like