The Electric Prunes Release Of An Oath 45rpm LP (Maroon & White Marble Vinyl)

The Electric Prunes

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition - 1000 Copies!
45rpm Maroon & White Marble Vinyl LP!
Sounds Fresh & Cutting-Edge Over 50 Years Later!

Starting with their 1967 self-titled release featuring "I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)", The Electric Prunes made four fantastic albums for the Reprise label in the space of two years, but by the time they made Release Of An Oath, the last of the four, not a single member of the original band was left. But two key individuals were still in the fold. One was Dave Hassinger, engineer for The Rolling Stones, Jefferson Airplane, Grateful Dead and other superstar groups of the '60s, who retained the rights to the Electric Prunes name and served as producer of the album. The other was legendary composer and arranger David Axelrod.

Axelrod had already written and arranged the Prunes album Mass In F Minor, the complexity of which had forced the band's original members to quit in frustration. Now, having composed a psychedelic Catholic mass, Axelrod turned his attention to the Old Testament and specifically "The Kol Nidre", the prayer that begins the Yom Kippur service in the Jewish faith. Once again, the orchestration proved too much for the then-current edition of the band (except for vocalist Dick Whetstone), so Axelrod brought in The Wrecking Crew in the persons of guitarists Howard Roberts and Lou Morrell, bassist Carol Kaye, keyboardist Don Randi, and drummer Earl Palmer. Armed with that formidable line-up, Axelrod brought his trademark blend of psychedelic rock, jazzy orchestration and avant-garde touches to full fruition, creating an album that sounds fresh and cutting-edge over 50 years later.

Now, for its first vinyl reissue, Real Gone Music presents this one-of-a-kind record in a maroon and white marble vinyl pressing that's every bit as psychedelic as the music it contains. If you know and love this album, you'll love this edition, and if you haven't heard it, now is the time!


  • Limited Edition - 1000 copies
  • Maroon & White Marble Vinyl
  • First vinyl reissue
  • Mastered at 45rpm for maximum fidelity
  • Original album art
  • Features members of The Wrecking Crew


Side One:

  1. Kol Nidre
  2. Holy Are You
  3. General Confessional

Side Two:

  1. Individual Confessional
  2. Our Father, Our King
  3. The Adoration
  4. Closing Hymn

Customers Also Like