Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Friday Music
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Grateful Dead Birth Of The Dead: Volume One (The Studio Sessions) 180g 2LP

The Grateful Dead

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Audiophile Vinyl Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso & Ron McMaster!
Features Photos By Herb Greene Exclusive To This LP!

Rolling Stone 2015 Readers' Poll: The 10 Best Jam Bands: The Grateful Dead Rated 1st!

The legendary Bay area rock superstars the Grateful Dead scored for over four decades a plethora of wonderful recordings throughout their incredible career. Spearheaded originally by the late great Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir, Phil Lesh, Bill Kruetzmann and the late Ron “Pigpen” McKernan, these five gentlemen set the world on fire with their magnificent artistry and musicianship which is unparalleled to this day.

With their very first San Francisco gigs and studio recordings when they were locally known as The Warlocks, the historical importance of these debut sessions would soon become a blueprint for the music world as the Grateful Dead would become one of the band’s and biggest concert attractions of all time.

Over a decade ago, the Grateful Dead unearthed 17 super rare studio recordings from 1965 through 1967. Aside from an ultra rare 45 on Scorpio Records and a collaborative effort with Jon Hendricks on Verve Records, none of these recordings were ever released. Ranging from the very first sessions at Autumn Records (Beau Brummels, Sly Stone) and then the Scorpio Records sides, these tracks simply became manna for the fans and were truly a find for any collector of fine rock and roll and early psych and garage rock fare.

Gordon Lightfoot’s Early Morning Rain kicks off the collection, and then the fireworks light up as future Dead classics like I Know You Rider, Don’t Ease Me In and Cold Rain and Snow truly become a very important and interesting listen to any fan of the Dead or classic rock in general.

Known for their jams in concert and in the studio setting, you will get to hear stellar takes on rare tracks like Tastebud, The Only Time Is Now, and of course the super rare Jon Hendricks (Lambert, Hendricks & Ross) protest rocker Fire in the City.

These amazing Dead recordings have never been released on the vinyl format - until now. Friday Music proudly announces for the very first time on 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl — The Grateful Dead’s Birth Of The Dead Volume One-The Studio Sessions. This deluxe 2 LP set not only has the original 17 studio sessions unearthed by the Dead themselves, but it also includes for the very first time anywhere, several unearthed photos from the lens of the legendary Herb Greene. These first time issued photos show the very first sittings of the Grateful Dead and will make your listening hours that much more enjoyable as you stare at the brilliant pictures of your favorite rockers in this very special era.

As a further installment in the exclusive and authorized Grateful Dead Friday Music 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Series, this fine album is part of a historical two part audiophile vinyl series.

Mastered impeccably for vinyl by Joe Reagoso (Grateful Dead) at Friday Music Studios and at Capitol Records, Hollywood, CA with Ron McMaster, this limited edition audiophile version of Birth Of The Dead Volume One-The Studio Sessions is sure to become a welcome addition to any Dead-fan's collection.

Grateful Dead...Birth Of The Dead Volume One-The Studio Sessions...a historic album...first time release in the audiophile domain...only from your friends at Friday Music.

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios & Capitol Records, Hollywood, CA with Ron McMaster
• First time on vinyl
• Exclusive to this LP: First time sitting photos of The Dead by the legendary Herb Greene
• Mastered from the original Grateful Dead Records tapes

LP 1 - The Autumn Sessions
Side 1

The Autumn Sessions
1. Early Morning Rain
2. I Know You Rider
3. Mindbender (Confusion’s Prince)
4. The Only Time Is Now
5. Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks)
Side 2
1. Can’t Come Down
The Scorpio Sessions
2. Stealin’ (Instrumental)
3. Stealin’ (With Vocals)
4. Don’t Ease Me In (Instrumental)
5. Don’t Ease Me In (With Vocals)

LP 2 - The Scorpio Sessions (continued)
Side 3
1. You Don’t Have to Ask
2. Tastebud (Instrumental)
3. Tastebud (With Vocals)
Side 4
1. I Know You Rider
2. Cold Rain and Snow (Instrumental)
3. Cold Rain and Snow (With Vocals)
The Hendricks Session
4. Fire in the City

Customers Also Like