Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Friday Music
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Grateful Dead Built To Last 180g LP

The Grateful Dead

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Audiophile Vinyl Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso With Kevin Gray From Original Arista/Grateful Dead Records Tapes!

Rolling Stone 2015 Readers' Poll: The 10 Best Jam Bands: The Grateful Dead Rated 1st!

The iconic Grateful Dead recorded their final studio album Built To Last for Arista Records in 1989. Featuring the great line-up of Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir, Phil Lesh, Bill Kreutzman, Mickey Hart and Brent Midland, Built To Last was a successful snapshot of a much loved band whose legacy continues to grow and attract new legions of fans every day.

Filled with eight new compositions from Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter, Bob Weir and Brent Midland, The Grateful Dead’s Built To Last offers a stunning view of a very popular band’s experimentation and wizardry in the studio setting. Produced by Jerry Garcia and John Cutler, the original vinyl album was very scarce as the compact disc was the new medium of choice. With very few quantities of the vinyl album produced, Built To Last soon became a collector’s item.

Now for the first time ever on 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl, Friday Music is very honored to announce the limited edition Grateful Dead authorized release of Built To Last. Mastered for vinyl from the original Arista/Grateful Dead Records tapes by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios with Kevin Gray, this wonderful album is truly a welcome addition to your Dead collection.

Brilliant tunes like the Top Ten charting rock single Foolish Heart feature the warm and familiar voice and guitar of the legendary Jerry Garcia as well as the lyrics of Robert Hunter. Together this team offered several more gems like the stellar ballad Standing On The Moon and of course the epic title track Built To Last, which is truly a perfect motto and track that signifies the importance of this American institution.

Bob Weir delivers two very strong tracks including the funk rocker Picasso Moon which hauntingly has a Live At The Mars Hotel quality to it, thanks to the clever guitar and piano hooks throughout. Plus his Victim Or The Crime continues Weir’s arsenal of great album tracks that have continued to enlighten fans with each and every album he soulfully contributed to.

Brent Midland also contributes several of the more hard rocking tracks like Blow Away and Just A Little Light, which truly showcase his artistic keyboard work and soulful vocals.

Sadly, the all too soon passing of both Jerry Garcia and Brent Midland made Built To Last a final studio album from The Grateful Dead, a band who continues to be an important musical force at retail, radio and of course the live concert business in various incarnations.

The Grateful Dead’s Built To Last album is packaged in a poly bag to preserve the rich details of the legendary cover art as well as a poly lined inner sleeve to protect your vinyl purchase for years of enjoyment.

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Gatefold jacket
• Mastered From Original Arista/Grateful Dead Records Tapes
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso with Kevin Gray at Friday Music
• Protective outer poly bag
• Protective inner poly sleeve

Side 1:

1. Foolish Heart
2. Just A Little Light
3. Victim Or The Crime
4. Standing On The Moon
Side 2:
1. Blow Away
2. PIcasso Moon
3. Built To Last
4. I Will Take You Home

Customers Also Like