Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Grateful Dead Dick's Picks Volume 24 Hand-Numbered Limited Edition 180g 4LP Box Set

The Grateful Dead

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 4LP Box Set!
The First-Ever "Wall Of Sound" Show - Never Before On Vinyl!
Limited To 1500 Copies - One Time Only Pressing!

For Real Gone Music's second vinyl expedition into the Grateful Dead vaults (having sold out of Dick's Picks Vol. 34), they landed on one of the most momentous shows in the band's long history: the March 23, 1974 show at the Cow Palace that marked the first appearance of the famous (or infamous, depending on which Dead Head you ask) Wall of Sound concert PA! And, since the calling card of that amplification system was its crystal-clear fidelity, Real Gone Music have taken absolutely no chances with the sound on this vinyl release: the show was mastered from the original analog tapes by long-time Dead engineer Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering, and the venerable John Golden (who's cut lacquer for everyone from Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings to Jonathan Wilson to Soundgarden) at Golden Mastering cut the lacquers. It took two rounds of test pressings to run the approval gauntlet of Norman, Grateful Dead archivist David Lemieux, and Real Gone's own Gordon Anderson, so rest assured you're getting the very best vinyl listening experience Real Gone can deliver, and the 180-gram vinyl pressing ensures minimum warpage and surface noise. In short, you'll hear the same unprecedented sonic clarity that Bear envisioned when he put together the Wall of Sound PA...and indeed the set includes the note from Bear that accompanied the original CD release as part of the 4-page, full-size, full-color insert that lies inside the color hardshell box containing the four LPs (which are housed inside poly-lined sleeves).

Aside from the debut of the Wall of Sound, the 3/23/74 show is notable for several reasons. First, it featured the debut of two songs, "Cassidy" and "Scarlet Begonias", that were to become staples of the band's repertoire. And, second, this show marked the third and last appearance of the "Playing in the Band/Uncle John's Band/Morning Dew/Uncle John's Band/Playing in the Band" medley, and you can see would be very, very hard to top this performance, which stretched its "Playing in the Band" segments almost to their breaking point. It's a peak show from a pivotal period in the band's development...and Real Gone Music are only pressing up 1500 hand-numbered copies of this 4-LP set! Once they're gone, nothin's gonna bring 'em back...


  • Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition - 1500 Copies
  • 4LP Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Mastered from the original analog tapes by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering
  • Lacquers cut by John Golden at Golden Mastering
  • 4-page, full-size, full-color insert
  • Color hardshell box
  • Poly-lined LP sleeves


Side One:

  1. U.S. Blues
  2. Promised Land
  3. Brown-Eyed Women
  4. Black-Throated Wind

Side Two:

  1. Scarlet Begonias
  2. Beat It On Down The Line
  3. Deal
  4. Cassidy

Side Three:

  1. China Cat Sunflower
  2. I Know You Rider

Side Four:

  1. Weather Report Suite: Prelude / Part I / Part II (Let It Grow)

Side Five:

  1. Playing In The Band
  2. Uncle John's Band

Side Six:

  1. Morning Dew
  2. Uncle John's Band
  3. Playing In The Band

Side Seven:

  1. Big River
  2. Bertha

Side Eight:

  1. Wharf Rat
  2. Sugar Magnolia

Customers Also Like