Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus
Additional Artists: Nat Reeves Joe Farnsworth


The Harold Mabern Trio Don't Know Why Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Harold Mabern Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

One Of The Great Post-Bop Pianists on SACD!

Jazz pianist Harold Mabern was born in Memphis, Tennessee in 1936 and spent some of his early years in Chicago before moving to New York in the early 1960s. There he began to work with Lionel Hampton, Art Farmer's Jazztet and J.J. Johnson. Mabern has accompanied many vocalists including Joe Williams, Sarah Vaughan, Dakota Staton, Irene Reid and Arthur Prysock. He's also worked with Roland Kirk, Sonny Rollins, Freddie Hubbard, Lee Morgan, Roy Haynes, Wes Montgomery, Clark Terry, Billy Harper, Joe Newman and George Coleman.

"It's difficult not to break into a smile when hearing Harold Mabern play piano, as the hard bop stylist has a knack for giving his all as if he were entertaining an audience, even during a studio date. This trio meeting with bassist Nat Reeves and drummer Joe Farnsworth finds Mabern covering a lot of styles, including a few surprising choices. He takes Peter Brown's disco hit 'Dance with Me' into new ground with a brisk arrangement incorporating funk, Latin, and driving post-bop. Jesse Harris' soft ballad 'Don't Know Why' was a huge hit for singer/pianist Norah Jones on her platinum-selling CD Come Away with Me, though Mabern infuses it with a brighter tempo and a bit of country flavor, plus just a hint of gospel. For most jazz musicians, it's hard to avoid a modal approach to 'My Favorite Things' since John Coltrane reworked it into that setting; Mabern follows that path but does his best to avoid outright cloning of McCoy Tyner's technique in Coltrane's historic recording, though total avoidance is impossible. The pianist's potent originals include the hard-driving, gospel-flavored 'Edward Lee' and the tense, infectious 'Nightlife in Tokyo.' Reeves and Farnsworth excel in their support of Mabern, though the hard-charging pianist is practically a one-man band with his boundless energy." - AllMusic

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Harold Mabern, piano
Nat Reeves, bass
Joe Farnsworth, drums

1. Edward Lee
2. Dance With Me
3. My Favorite Things
4. Don't Know Why
5. Dreamy
6. Cabu
7. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
8. Nightlife In Tokyo
9. Blues For David
10. My Shining Hour

Recorded at "Avatar Studio" in New York on April 6, 2003

Customers Also Like