Genre: Alternative
Label: Vagrant
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Hold Steady Heaven Is Whenever 2LP

The Hold Steady

$9.99 $29.99
(You save $20.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Double LP!
Includes 9 Rare & Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks!

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the April 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

The Hold Steady's Heaven Is Whenever 10 Year Anniversary Deluxe Edition includes the original album plus 9 bonus tracks and new liner notes by Drive-By Truckers' Patterson Hood.

The fifth studio album by The Hold Steady was released May 4, 2010 on Vagrant Records in the U.S. and May 3, 2010 on Rough Trade in Europe. It debuted at #26 on The Billboard 200, becoming the highest charting album by the group.

Marking a distinct shift, their fifth album traded the group's previous rock swagger for more varied sounds and muted textures. Singer/songwriter Craig Finn began to sing more and rely less on his talk-rants. Another major change was the departure of keyboardist Franz Nicolay, who played a key role in the band's earlier records. The keyboards were mostly replaced by Tad Kubler's bruising guitar, with his Les Paul chug and twin harmony leads launching songs like 'Rock Problems.' Some nice-sounding acoustic slide dobro opens 'The Sweet Part of the City' before the band kicks in with a brooding electric groove. Craig Finn's lyric obsessions are still vividly intact, including his affection for damaged street characters, Catholic saints, and hyper-literate tales of gritty misadventure. The anniversary edition also includes ... 'Beer on the Bedstand'... Here Finn more or less rewrites Warren Zevon's 'Carmelita,' fusing melody and a dead-end romanticism that tears at your heart.
-Greg Gaston, The Absolute Sound, April 2021, Music 4/5, Sonics 4/5


  • 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
  • Double LP
  • Original Album
  • 9 rare & previously unreleased Bonus Tracks
  • Remastered
  • Embossed jacket
  • New liner notes by Patterson Hood (Drive-By Truckers)
  • Manufactured in EU


LP 1 - Original Album

Side A:
  1. The Sweet Part Of The City
  2. Soft In The Center
  3. The Weekenders
  4. The Smidge
  5. Rock Problems
Side B:
  1. We Can Get Together
  2. Hurricane J
  3. Barely Breathing
  4. Our Whole Lives
  5. A Slight Discomfort

LP 2 - Bonus Tracks

Side C:
  1. Ascension Blues
  2. Touchless
  3. Separate Vacations
  4. Criminal Fingers
Side D:
  1. Beer On The Bedstand
  2. At Least Not Tonight
  3. Wonderful Struggle
  4. Going On A Hike
  5. We Can Get Together (Alternate)

Customers Also Like