Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The J. Geils Band The J. Geils Band 180g LP

The J. Geils Band

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
High Quality Pure Analogue 180g Virgin Vinyl LP!

In the wake of Woodstock and the flight of impassioned music groups to the perhaps most fertile, colorful but also somewhat intellectual decade of rock ’n’ roll, Jerome Geils had clearly found his musical niche. There are not many bands that could entertain unpretentiously and let loose with his sextet under his own name to create brash, extrovert rock. The amalgamation of authentic blues and showy rock ’n’ roll, fed with a fervid veneration of such blues greats as Muddy Waters, Junior Wells and Chuck Berry was so compelling that the group could easily have passed as a black band.

Black, earthy and with casually interposed phrases on the befitting harmonica, the J. Geils Band gives their premiere in the world of the blues with "Wait". In the very next number ("Ice Breaker") the keyboarder Seth Justman heats up the action with a meaty organ groove while 'Magic' Dick Salwitz gives his utmost on his blues harp with top notes and unbelievable bursts of fire coming from the realms of rhythm & blues. Not to forget the boss, who launches powerful riffs and chordal cascades on his guitar. Fans of honest, down-to-earth music from this era shouldn’t miss out on this debut album.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head.

• 180g High Quality Vinyl
• Pure Analogue
• Made from the original, analogue mastertapes
• Pressed at Pallas/Germany
• Faithful reproductions of original artwork and labels

Peter Wolf, vocals
Seth Justman, piano, organ
Magic Dick, harp
J. Geils, guitar
Danny Klein, bass
Stephen Bladd, drums, vocals

Side One:

1. Wait
2. Ice Breaker (For The Big "M")
3. Cruisin' For A Love
4. Hard Drivin' Man
5. Serves You Right To Suffer
Side Two:
1. Homework
2. First I Look At The Purse
3. What's Your Hurry
4. On Borrowed Time
5. Pack Fair And Square
6. Sno-Cone

Customers Also Like