Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Joe Beck Trio Strangers In The Night Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Joe Beck Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Tribute To Frank Sinatra on SACD!

Joe Beck was an American jazz guitarist who played in a variety of jazz styles, including jazz fusion, post bop, mainstream jazz and soul jazz. After moving to Manhattan in his teens, he began playing six nights a week in a trio setting, and by the time he was 18, Stan Getz had used him to record some jingles and in 1967 he recorded with Miles Davis. By 1968, at age 22, he was a member of the Gil Evans Orchestra.

In a 2007 interview with Jazz Guitar Life, Beck described his early sucess:

"My career happened because I happened to be in the right place at the right time in a very unique time of jazz music. ...when I would finish a gig around two in the morning I would go around the corner to the Playboy Club and sit in with Monty Alexander and let Les Spann take a breather and I would finish the gig for him. Then we would go and listen to Kenny Burrell play around the corner or we would go up to Mintons and listen to Wes Montgomery and sit in with him ..."

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Joe Beck, guitar
George Mraz, bass
Billy Hart, drums

1. Strangers In The Night
2. All Of Me
3. I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance
4. I'm A Fool To Want You
5. Once I Loved
6. The Girl Next Door
7. Angel Eyes
8. Last Night When We Were Young
9. Black Orpheus
10. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)

Recorded at the Clinton Recording Studio in New York on April 14, 1999

Customers Also Like