The Kentucky Colonels 1966 LP

The Kentucky Colonels

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Reissue of Their Album 1966!
Originally Released in 1978!
Includes Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks!

Extra Crispy Bluegrass!

Released by Shiloh Records in 1978, 1966 was a curious album, the bucket of tunes contained only two songs in the Colonels' regular repertoire while the rest was made up of finger lickin' good covers and traditionals. This reissue expands the offering with some of their earliest known recordings, combining to form a full menu

from a legendary band that ushered bluegrass into a more modern era!

The band, led by the virtuosic mandolin player Roland White, delivers a collection of traditional and original tunes that showcase their impeccable musicianship and tight harmonies.

But it's not just about technical skill - the Kentucky Colonels also bring a sense of soulfulness to their music. Vocal tracks like "I Am A Pilgrim" and "Lonely Heart Blues" are delivered with heartfelt emotion, while instrumentals like "Dusty Miller" have a haunting beauty that lingers long after they've ended.

Overall, the Kentucky Colonels' 1966 album is a must-listen for anyone who loves bluegrass music. It's a timeless classic that showcases some of the genre's finest musicians at their very best.

The Kentucky Colonels came along at a crucial time and helped usher bluegrass into a more modern era. The band's fresh, youthful, fun-loving approach to bluegrass, coupled with a respect for tradition but the willingness to push the boundaries of the music, made the Colonels a band for the ages. A half-century after the band's last recordings, the Kentucky Colonels still matter.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Mastered by Joe Lizzi
  • Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks


Side One:

  1. Soldier's Joy
  2. The Fugitive
  3. Ruben's Train
  4. One Tear
  5. I Might Take You Back Again
  6. Head Over Heels In Love With You (Previously Unissued)
  7. Shady Grave (Previously Unissued)
  8. I'll Never Love Anybody But You (Previously Unissued)
  9. Polka On The Banjo (Previously Unissued)

Side Two:

  1. Take Off Your Cheaters
  2. Old Country Church
  3. Earl's Breakdown
  4. Give This Message To Your Heart
  5. Ruben's Train (Encore)
  6. Cotton Eyed Joe
  7. Soldier's Joy (Conclusion)
  8. I'll Go Steppin' Too (Previously Unissused)
  9. Flint Hill Special (Previously Unissued)
  10. Shuckin' The Corn (Previously Unissued)

Customers Also Like