Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sanctuary
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Kinks Kinks 180g LP

The Kinks

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl Reissue of 1964 Debut Album!
Remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Mastering From Original Master Tapes!

Kinks is the self-titled debut album by English rock band The Kinks, released in 1964. The Kinks were formed in 1963 but found prominence with their third single, featured on this album; "You Really Got Me" (released in 1964).

Written by Ray Davies, it became an international hit, topping the charts in the United Kingdom and reaching the Top 10 in the United States, and still receives strong support and rotation to this very day. Consisting largely of covers and revamped traditional songs, the Kinks self-titled album was released on October 2, 1964, reaching number four on the UK chart. The group's fourth single, "All Day and All of the Night," another original hard rock tune, was released three weeks later, reaching number two in the United Kingdom.

This is part of a series of releases and reissues celebrating the 50th Anniversary of The Kinks. The album was originally released in the US as You Really Got Me, with 3 tracks omitted. This release features the original UK art and title and includes those 3 tracks.

"... the Kinks' early work is among the best British Invasion music..." -Richie Unterberger,

" of the finest collections of pop songs released during the '60s...filled with wonderful of the most distinctive and accomplished albums of its time." -Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

"...Producer Shel Talmy was never known for deep pocket spending on record production or anything more than straight forward getting the tune on tape and getting out and for the longest time I thought of these as “el cheapo” productions with not much sonically to recommend but over time that view has changed especially with these new re-masters by Kevin Gray from the original Pye mono tapes (this album was never mixed to stereo though there are original fake stereo versions issued by both Pye and in America by Reprise—stay away from those!).

"I compared this reissue to an original UK red label Pye mono pressing and to an early 1990’s gray mono Pye pressing. The earlier pressings sound similar. The new cut by Kevin Gray is much better! There’s no doubt about it. It’s far more transparent, spacious and harmonically complete. The bottom end is both more extended and more detailed. On the opening track drummer Mick Avory does some speedy kick drum double time that I’d not before heard so deeply and cleanly rendered.

"More importantly, I’d always thought of this album as “okay sounding” but it’s much better than that on this reissue. First play “Fancy” and you’ll hear what I’m talking about.

"The Kinks Katalog has been messed up since forever, with a slew of reissues and hits compilations sourced from who knows what? Now we have a chance to get them all, cut by one of the great mastering engineers working today, sourced from the original master tapes and well-pressed too.

"For Kinks fans, this is it. Who knows how long these will remain in print. I’m buying them all!'
- Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, June 16, 2015

• 180g Vinyl
• Remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Mastering
• Remastered from original master tapes

Side One:

1. Beautiful Delilah
2. So Mystifying
3. Just Can't Go To Sleep
4. Long Tall Shorty
5. I Took My Baby Home
6. I'm A Lover Not A Fighter
7. You Really Got Me
Side Two:
1. Cadillac
2. Bald Headed Woman
3. Revenge
4. Too Much Monkey Business
5. I've Been Driving On Bald Mountain
6. Stop Your Sobbing
7. Get Love If You Want It

Customers Also Like