Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Kinks Muswell Hillbillies 180g 2LP

The Kinks

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Legacy Edition of RCA Debut Album on 180g Double LP!

Bonus LP Includes Demos, Alternates, 1972 BBC Peel Sessions, and More!

Anchored by lead singer/songwriter/guitarist Ray Davies and his brother, lead guitarist/vocalist Dave Davies, The Kinks became one of the highest-regarded English rock bands thanks to immortal singles like "You Really Got Me," "All Day and All of The Night," and "Lola."

Ray Davies' evocative lyrical gifts and the band's simple, relentless musical style influenced countless bands throughout the 1960s and '70s, particularly in the nascent genre of heavy metal.

Released in 1971, Muswell Hillbillies, their first album for the RCA label, was a vivid portrait of working class life in the band's North London home; Rolling Stone called it Ray Davies' "signature statement" as a songwriter. Sonically, Muswell Hillbillies was a marked departure from the band's rough-and-tumble approach of the '60s, taking influence from turn-of-the-century British music hall and country styles, with expanded arrangements thanks to the brass section The Mike Cotton Sound. (The Kinks would explore more diverse styles as the 1970s wore on, experimenting with concept albums and theatrical staging.)

While Muswell Hillbillies did not enjoy the same commercial success of its predecessors, it remains one of the most acclaimed studio albums in the band's 50-year history.

"Throughout it all, Davies' songwriting is at a peak, as are the Kinks themselves. There are a lot of subtle shifts in mood and genre on the album, and the band pulls it off effortlessly and joyously -- but it's hard not to hear Dave Davies' backing vocals and have it not sound joyous. Regardless of its commercial fate, Muswell Hillbillies stands as one of the Kinks' best albums." -Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Bonus LP includes demos, alternates, 1972 BBC Peel Sessions, and more
• Gatefold Jacket

LP 1 - Side 1:

1. 20th Century Man
2. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues
3. Holiday
4. Skin and Bone
5. Alcohol
6. Complicated Life
LP 1 - Side 2:
7. Here Come the People In Gray
8. Have A Cuppa Tea
9. Holloway Jail
10. Oklahoma U.S.A.
11. Uncle Son
12. Muswell Hillbilly

LP 2 - Side 3:
1. Lavender Lane
2. Mountain Woman
3. Have A Cuppa Tea (alternate version)
4. Uncle Son (alternate version)
5. Kentucky Moon
6. Nobody's Fool (demo)
LP 2 - Side 4:
7. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues (BBC Peel Session)
8. Holiday (BBC Peel Session)
9. Skin and Bone (BBC Peel Session)
10. 20th Century Man (alternate instrumental take)
11. Queenie (backing track)
12. Muswell Hillbillies radio spot

Customers Also Like