Genre: Reggae
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Maytals From The Roots 180g Import LP

The Maytals

$24.99 $32.99
(You save $8.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

180g Audiophile Vinyl LP!

Toots Hibbert, Henry "Raleigh" Gordon and Nathaniel "Jerry" Mathias founded The Maytals in 1962. The Jamaican musicians became one of the best known ska and rocksteady vocal groups and helped popularize reggae music during the Sixties. Their 1968 single "Do The Reggay" was the first song to use the word "Reggae", resulting in the Oxford English Dictionary crediting Toots and The Maytals in the etymology of the word "Reggae".

Following their signing to Island Records in 1973 they recorded and released their fourth album, From The Roots. The album was recorded with Leslie Kong and features some of The Maytals' most explosive tunes, while their predilection for gospel is still audible.

The record was cobbled together from odds and ends of tracks recorded between 1969 and 1970 for Leslie Kong's Beverley's label, and while it doesn't contain any of the more famous Kong-produced cuts, it still exhibits the Maytals' trademark Jamaican version of gospelfervor, led by lead singer Toots Hibbert's barn-burning vocal style. Arguably this album, along with its Kong-produced predecessor, 1970's Monkey Man, contains the best and most explosive tracks in the Maytals' discography.
-Steve Leggett, AllMusic


  • 180g Audiophile Vinyl
  • Import
  • Made in the EU


Side One:

  1. Pee Pee Cluck Cluck
  2. Loving Spirit
  3. Dr. Lester
  4. Gola Silver
  5. Koo Koo
  6. Revival Reggae
  7. Thy Kingdom Come

Side Two:

  1. One Eye Enos
  2. A Time To Love
  3. 9 O'Clock
  4. Know Me Good
  5. Got To Feel
  6. Feel So Good
  7. Give Peace A Chance

Customers Also Like