Genre: Jazz
Label: Jazzline/PO
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Modern Jazz Quartet 1959 Bonn, Beethovenhalle 180g 2LP

The Modern Jazz Quartet

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl Double LP!
Remastered Original Master Concert Recording!

The Modern Jazz Quartet's 1959 Bonn, Beethovenhalle is an original master concert recording from the Beethovenhalle, in Bonn, Germany, previously retrospectively released for the first time in 2010. A release in WDR's The Cologne Broadcasts series, it was executively produced by Franz-Josef Schwarz and mastered by Thomas Sehringer. The double LP includes musician and composer credits, plus liner notes by journalist and radio host Karsten Mützelfeldt in English and German.

The Modern Jazz Quartet (MJQ) was a jazz combo established in 1952 that played music influenced by classical, cool jazz, blues, and bebop. For most of its history the Quartet consisted of John Lewis (piano), Milt Jackson (vibraphone), Percy Heath (double bass), and Connie Kay (drums). The group grew out of the rhythm section of Dizzy Gillespie's big band from 1946 to 1948, which consisted of Lewis and Jackson along with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Kenny Clarke.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Remastered Original Master Concert Recording
• Gatefold jacket
• Made in Germany

John Lewis
Milt Jackson
Percy Heath
Connie Kay

Side A:

1. Django
2. Bag's Groove
3. How High The Moon
Side B:
1. A Cold Wind is Blowing
2. Midsummer
3. A Social Call
Side C:
1. Vendome
2. Now's The Time
3. It Don't Mean A Thing
Side D:
1. Pyramid
2. Skating In Central Park

Customers Also Like