Genre: Alternative
Label: Morr Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Notwist Vertigo Days Import 2LP

The Notwist

$9.99 $38.99
(You save $29.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

1st Album In 7 Years On Double Vinyl LP!

Double LP version. Three-sided vinyl; includes printed inners and download code.

On Vertigo Days, the first album in seven years for The Notwist, one of Germany's most iconic independent groups are alive to the possibilities of the moment. Their music has long been open-minded and exploratory, but from its engrossing structure, through its combination of melancholy pop, clangorous electronics, hypnotic krautrock, and driftwork ballads, to its international musical guests, Vertigo Days is both a new step for The Notwist.

It's been seven years since The Notwist's last album, Close To The Glass (2014), and in that time the various members of the group have been busy with side projects (Spirit Fest, Hochzeitskapelle, Alien Ensemble, Joasihno), guest appearances, a record label (Alien Transistor), movie scoring, helping organize the Minna Miteru compilation of Japanese indie pop (MORR 168CD/LP), and running a festival (Alien Disko). Those divergent paths feed back into Vertigo Days in surprising ways, from its structure, built from group improvisations, with songs flowing and melting into one another in a collective haze, to its spirit, which feels refreshed and alive.

There's something cinematic about Vertigo Days too, reflective of the group's time working on soundtracks. The album's lead single, "Ship," sees the group joined by Saya of Japanese pop duo Tenniscoats, her disarmingly hymnal voice sighing over a propulsive, krautrocking beat. American multi-instrumentalist Ben LaMar Gay sings on "Oh Sweet Fire," also contributing "a love lyric for these times." American jazz clarinetist and composer Angel Bat Dawid adds clarinet to the spaced-out dream-pop of "Into The Ice Age," while Argentinian electronica songwriter Juana Molina gifts some gorgeous singing and electronics to "Al Sur."

Saya also reappears as a member of Japanese brass band Zayaendo, who guest on the album. Throughout, The Notwist also capture the openness of their live performances, too, where they mix and link their songs in unexpected ways. Vertigo Days sits together as one long, flowing suite, the album conceptualized as a whole entity. This is also captured by the album's lyrics, which Markus states, "feel more like one long poem." The dimensions of that poem are multi-faceted, something intensified by the geopolitical weirdness of its times. But it also works at a level of poetic abstraction, such that each song gestures in multiple directions - the deeply private pans out to the global.

Vertigo Days is an album that is brimming with life, with enthusiasm and love for music and for community, all wide-eyed and dreaming.

This time, the Notwist question what it means to be in a band, and their seeking reveals homespun sweetness, seemingly ancient storytelling, and the majesty of an orchestra all in a single album. Vertigo Days' ranginess suits the Notwist; after all, they've always resisted easy categorization, and they've rarely sounded as loose and spontaneous as they do here...By the time Vertigo Days comes full circle with 'Into Love Again,' [Acher] and the rest of the Notwist have taken their audience on a wild and wise journey of the heart.
-Heather Phares., 4/5 stars


  • Double Vinyl LP
  • Three-Sided Vinyl
  • Printed Inners
  • Limited-Time Digital Download Code
  • Import


  1. Al Norte
  2. Into Love / Stars
  3. Exit Strategy To Myself
  4. Where You Find Me
  5. Ship (feat. Saya)
  6. Loose Ends
  7. Into The Ice Age (feat. Angel Bat Dawid)
  8. Oh Sweet Fire (feat. Ben LaMar Gay)
  9. Ghost
  10. Sans Soleil
  11. Night's Too Dark
  12. *stars*
  13. Al Sur (feat. Juana Molina)
  14. Into Love Again (feat. Zayaendo)

Customers Also Like