Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Pixies Surfer Rosa Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
MFSL 1-296

Out Of Print! Only a few copies left!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 390/500!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Remastered from Recently Discovered First-Generation, Original Analog Master Tapes!

#7 on Pitchfork’s Top 100 Favorite Records of the 1980s • #31 on New Musical Express’ Top 100 Albums of All Time • #79 on Mojo’s The 100 Records That Changed the World • #315 on Rolling Stone’s The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time!

The Plymouth Rock on which alternative rock was founded, the Pixies’ Surfer Rosa forever altered the music environment — even if it did take most of the world a few years to catch up with its brilliance. Internationally acknowledged as a pioneering record, its rollercoaster blend of harsh and soft tempos, male and female singing, intense punk and bubblegum pop tones, dark and light quips, and off-kilter sensibilities is the influential equivalent of the Velvet Underground’s oft-cited 1967 debut.

The 1987 debut established the Pixies as otherworldly visionaries whose songs such as the insistent “Bone Machine,” badgering “Something Against You,” and sensual “Cactus” remain ahead of the curve. Having analog fanatic and noise aficionado Steve Albini working production ensured that the music would retain a requisite rawness and in-your-face sonic signature that paralleled the fundamentally chaotic, compulsive characteristics of the Pixies’ songs.

And now, thanks to the painstaking efforts of Mobile Fidelity engineers, you will truly hear this groundbreaking record as if you were experiencing it for the first time. Vivid, immediate, massive, and detailed, this is how Surfer Rosa was meant to be heard when Albini completed it and turned it into the label.

Also available on Mobile Fidelity 180g Vinyl is the Pixies' Doolittle (MFSL 1-309).

“The heaviness and hugeness of the room-reverberating drumbeat that begins the album-opening “Bone Machine” epitomizes the record’s forward impact, visceral punch, grinding crunch, and dynamic headroom. Rather than cluttering the mix with an avalanche of effects, Albini left space without sacrificing live detail or volatile oomph, shown to great effect on “Broken Face,” “Gigantic (there’s a piano—who knew?), and haunting “Where Is My Mind?,” which opens unto a sonic canyon that swallows the listener whole.” - Bob Gendron, The Absolute Sound, September 2007

"Smack in between hardcore punk and alternative, it was impossible to deconstruct the Pixies' ferocious howl. Their secret weapon was leaping from sweet to screamin' (which Kurt Cobain admitted to boosting): On "Gigantic," Kim Deal sings like Peppermint Patty as the band drives a spike into Eighties rock." -

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• 180g Vinyl

Black Francis, vocals, guitars
David Lovering, drums
Mrs. John Murphy, bass, vocals
Joey Santiago, lead guitars

1. Bone Machine
2. Break My Body
3. Something Against You
4. Broken Face
5. Gigantic
6. River Euphrates
7. Where Is My Mind?
8. Cactus
9. Tony's Theme
10. Oh My Golly!
11. Vamos
12. I'm Amazed
13. Brick Is Red

Customers Also Like