Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal


The Rolling Stones Goats Head Soup Super Deluxe 3CD & 1 Blu-Ray Box Set

The Rolling Stones

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Super Deluxe 3CD & Blu-Ray Box Set!

Stereophile: Performance 3.5/5 Stars (5/5 Stars for the live CD) / Sonics 4/5 Stars

TAS Rated 3.5/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the January 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Another prized jewel in the Rolling Stones' unmatched catalogue is restored to its full glory. Goats Head Soup was the band's 1973 follow-up to Exile On Main St., and contains the songs "Angie", "100 Years Ago" and "Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)".

The Goats Head Soup Super Deluxe box set features 35 tracks on three CDs & one Blu-Ray disc (Dolby Atmos, 96kHz/24 bit high resolution stereo, and 96 kHz/24 bit DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1). Included are the new stereo album mix, sourced from the original session files, Rarities & Alternative mixes featuring three previously unreleased tracks, "Scarlet", "All The Rage" and "Criss Cross". Also included is The Brussels Affair, recorded live at the Forest National Arena in October 1973.

The 4 discs are housed in the box alongside a 120-page book with an incredible array of photos and 3 essays: 50 Years On - An Appreciation of Goats Head Soup by Ian McCann; Brussels Affair Live 1973 Tour by Nick Kent; and The Story Of The Cover Art by Darryl Easlea. The set is completed with 4x 1973 reproduction tour posters, rolled up within the packaging to avoid creases.

Goats Head Soup's best tracks are so good, they not only carry the album, they make it sound like nothing else in the Stones' catalog.
More than half the liner notes, 66 pages, is a lavishly illustrated essay by Nick Kent, 'Make You Scream All Night - The Road to Brussels Affair (Live 1973).' In terms that vividly match the bright color photographs, he describes the Stones on tour at a peak of talent and excells. Absorbing Kent's chapter while listening to the live CD is quite the multimedia experience... For the hardcore Stones fan, this reissue is worth owning as a spiffy physical artifact, plus the live CD and the Giles Martin remixes are worth hearing. The casual Stones fan who doesn't desire a handsome box set on their shelf should at least stream the live tracks to get a taste for what all the fuss over this band was about in the 1970s.
-Tom Fine, Stereophile, January 2021
Keith Richards called 1974's Goats Head Soup a 'marking time' album and fellow guitarist Mick Taylor deemed it 'a bit directionless.' Fair enough, considering the band had produced a string of four classic studio albums between 1968 and 1972. But Goats Head Soup does have its charms - and it's never sounded better... The real strength of Goats Head Soup isn't rockers like 'Silver Train' or 'Star Star' but the five ballads - the country-inflected 'Coming Down Again,' the hit single 'Angie,' 'Hide Your Love,' 'Winter,' and the trancelike 'Can You Hear the Music.' Despite the rock reveries, there's a wistful tone to this album that captures the Stones at a turning point. Not the band's best, but not its worst - those would show up periodically during the next four decades.
-Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, January 2021, Music 3.5/5, Sonics 4/5


  • Super Deluxe Box Set
  • 3 CD
  • 1 Blu-Ray
  • New stereo album mix sourced from original session files
  • Rarities and alternative mixes
  • 3 previously unreleased tracks including "Scarlet" feat. Jimmy Page
  • The Brussels Affair live at Forest National Arena, October 1973
  • Blu-Ray: Dolby Atmos, 96kHz/24 bit high resolution stereo, 96 kHz/24 bit DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
  • Fully compatible with 5.1 & 7.1 surround systems & hi-res stereo
  • 120-page hardback art book
  • Rare photos from the recording sessions & world tour
  • Essay: 50 Years On - An Appreciate of Goats Head soup by Ian McCann
  • Essay: Brussels Affair Live 1973 Tour by Nick Kent
  • Essay: The Story Of The Cover Art by Darryl Easlea
  • 4 rolled (not folded) Limited Edition 1973 reproduction tour posters including the legendary design for the cancelled Cardiff and Pembroke castles show
  • Made in Czech Republic


CD1 - Original Album: 2020 Stereo Mix

  1. Dancing With Mr D
  2. 100 Years Ago
  3. Coming Down Again
  4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
  5. Angie
  6. Silver Train
  7. Hide Your Love
  8. Winter
  9. Can You Hear The Music
  10. Star Star

CD2 - Rarities & Alternative Mixes

  1. Scarlet (with Jimmy Page)
  2. All The Rage
  3. Criss Cross
  4. 100 Years Ago (Piano Demo)
  5. Dancing With Mr D (Instrumental)
  6. Heartbreaker (Instrumental)
  7. Hide Your Love (Alternate Mix)
  8. Dancing With Mr D (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
  9. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker) - (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
  10. Silver Train (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)

CD3 - 'Brussels Affair - Live 1973'

  1. Brown Sugar
  2. Gimme Shelter
  3. Happy
  4. Tumbling Dice
  5. Star Star
  6. Dancing With Mr D
  7. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
  8. Angie
  9. You Can't Always Get What You Want
  10. Midnight Rambler
  11. Honky Tonk Women
  12. All Down The Line
  13. Rip This Joint
  14. Jumpin' Jack Flash
  15. Street Fighting Man

Blu-Ray - Dolby Atmos, 96kHz/24 bit high-resolution stereo, and 96 kHz/24 bit DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1

  1. Dancing With Mr D
  2. 100 Years Ago
  3. Coming Down Again
  4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
  5. Angie
  6. Silver Train
  7. Hide Your Love
  8. Winter
  9. Can You Hear The Music
  10. Star Star

+ Original Videos: Dancing With Mr D, Silver Train & Angie

Customers Also Like