Genre: Jazz
Label: Yarlung


The Sophisticated Lady Jazz Quartet Sophisticated Lady Jazz Quartet CD

The Sophisticated Lady Jazz Quartet

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

German Audiophile Pressing on CD!
High-Resolution Virgin Polycarbonate!
Executive Produced by John Pruit!
Mastered by Steve Hoffman & Bob Attiyeh!

Recorded in The Brain and Creativity Institute's Cammilleri Hall at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles.

Jerome Kern's "I'm Old Fashioned," an arrangement by bass player Gary Wicks, was the first piece played by the quartet several years ago and has become one of the quartet's most requested tunes. By contrast, Andrew Boyle's "Gone" was a piece Yarlung commissioned, and which Andrew presented to the quartet for the first time during this session. Gary surprised the group with his arrangement of Duke Ellington's and Billy Strayhorn's "Isfahan," which was one of the first takes in Cammilleri Hall. "Sophisticated Lady" is guided by JJ Kirkpatrick in a free improvisation on "Strange Fruit," the Abel Meeropol melody made famous by Billie Holiday, a song instrumental in civil rights progress in the U.S. in the mid-20th century.

The Sophisticated Lady Jazz Quartet pays homage to the great tradition of American jazz, but most of their repertoire is written by members of the quartet. These tracks are complete takes, live-to-tape, without editing. Music cannot get fresher than this. When the members of Sophisticated Lady quartet first played in Cammilleri Hall their eyes lit up and excitement built. They responded to the beautiful sound in the hall immediately, and the acoustics enabled Yarlung to record this album with the characteristically minimalist approach.

More jazz records should be like Sophisticated Lady Quartet - relaxed yet focused, tradition-based yet modern, elegant yet conveying a sure sense of swing. The recording is so pure that you almost feel as if you're eavesdropping on four musicians who seem completely in their element while performing, in a one-take environment, a set that's evenly split between previously rehearsed arrangements and performances where they had one chance to turn a composition into a memorable piece of music. No splicing or editing here - just a live-in-the-studio recording where the mood, playing and sonics are so solid that that jazz lovers will wish that the mostly-classical label Yarlung wandered over to this side of the street more often.
-Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound
The Sophisticated Lady Jazz Quartet's debut recording should be of great interest to fans of forward-looking straight ahead jazz. Each of the four musicians is excellent both as soloists and in ensembles, the music that they perform ranges from melodic versions of standards to lyrical originals and freer explorations, and their subtle playing keeps one guessing. This [album] is well worth exploring and I certainly recommend it.
-Scott Yanow, Los Angeles Jazz Scene
Look out Brubeck, Sophisticated Lady's remarkable debut should perhaps be re-titled TAKE ONE. Why? Each tune was captured in one take! The [album] also celebrates Yarlung's audiophile venture into JAZZ with a splatter of Chet Baker's seductive, kicked-back Californication daubed with a drizzle of Miles at his mellowest. No matter how busy your day, an evening spin through this one will definitely move your mood.
-David Thomson, Record Collector News


  • CD
  • German Audiophile Pressing
  • High-Resolution Virgin Polycarbonate
  • Recorded at the Brain and Creativity Institute's Cammilleri Hall at University of Southern California, Los Angeles, October 24-26, 2013
  • Mastering Engineers: Steve Hoffman & Bob Attiyeh
  • Executive Producer: John Pruit
  • Assistant Producer: Jacob Horowitz
  • Microphone Preamplification by Elliot Midwood
  • Recorded with AKG C24 & C12 Tube Microphones
  • Made in Germany


JJ Kirkpatrick trumpet, flugelhorn
Misha Adair Bigos piano
Gary Wicks bass
Andrew Boyle drums


  1. I'm Old Fashioned - Jerome Kern
  2. Gone - Andrew Boyle
  3. Isfahan - Duke Ellington & Billy Strayhorn
  4. For Andrew - melody kernel by Andrew Norman
  5. Ropes of Sand - Misha Bigos
  6. Strange Fruit - Abel Meeropol
  7. Finale - Misha Bigos
  8. Green Eyed Monster - Andrew Boyle
  9. Night Night - Gary Wicks
  10. Sophisticated Lady - Duke Ellington
  11. Weightless - Gary Wicks
  12. Fields of Kurdistan - Misha Bigos

Customers Also Like