Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Tete Montoliu Trio Catalonian Rhapsody Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Tete Montoliu Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Traditional Catalonian Melodies on SACD!

Tete Montoliu (1933-1997) was a bebop-oriented pianist from Barcelona whose influences included Bud Powell, Al Haig, Lennie Tristano, Oscar Peterson, and Wynton Kelly as well as Art Tatum and Bill Evans. He began to be recognized outside of Spain in the late 1950s, recording with Lionel Hampton in 1956 and playing with the touring Roland Kirk in 1963. He also worked with Kenny Dorham, Dexter Gordon, Ben Webster, Lucky Thompson, and Anthony Braxton, and eventually became one of the most celebrated jazz pianists in Europe.

Catalonian Rhapsody is a very special album Tete recorded in his late period. This recording, which took place in Barcelona in 1992, captured Tete playing traditional Catalonian melodies in a trio setting, supported by bassist Hein Van de Geyn and drummer Idris Muhammad. This great album is now remastered by Venus Records and presented to jazz fans with superb sound quality!

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Tete Montoliu, piano
Hein Van de Geyn, bass
Idris Muhammad, drums

1. The Lady From Aragon (La Dama D'Arago)
2. Catalonian National Anthem (Els Segadors)
3. Three Young Ladies (Hiru Damatxo)
4. The Singing Of The Birds (El Cant Dels Ocells)
5. Song Of The Robber (La Canso Del Lladre)
6. Words Of Love (Paraules D'Amor)
7. Don't Smoke Anymore (Ja No Fumo)
8. My Street (El Meu Carrer)

Recorded at Albert Moraleda Studio in Barcelona on March 8, 1992

Customers Also Like