Genre: Folk
Label: Topic
Size: 12"
Format: 45RPM,


The Watersons Frost and Fire: A Calendar of Ritual and Magical Songs 45rpm LP

The Watersons

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming November 4, 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

45rpm Re-pressing of Classic Album Unavailable on Vinyl Since 1977!

Originally released on Topic in 1965, Frost and Fire: A Calendar of Ritual and Magical Songs was the debut album by The Watersons, a fledgling folk group from Hull, Yorkshire. Comprised of Norma, Mike, and Lal (Elaine) Waterson, with their cousin John Harrison, they performed mainly traditional songs with little or no accompaniment, their distinctive sound emanating entirely from their closely woven harmonies. Recorded by Bill Leader in the back room of his Camden Town flat and produced by Tony Engle, Frost and Fire became Melody Maker magazine's Album of the Year (a rarity for a debut album). It's since gone on to be a staple of every folk collection worth its salt and inspired generations of close harmony singers.

Now re-released in the original sleeve (with minor adaptions for 2022) and featuring A.L. Lloyd's extensive track-by-track sleeve notes, this new vinyl pressing has been cut at 45rpm for optimal sound quality.

First hearing the Watersons live was a shock, a revelation. Their voices and their musicality were unique. Raw, passionate and brilliant, and so were they. Their musical instincts were perfect and they redefined the possibilities of the British folk scene, they had somehow opened a door wide and it's still open. Home grown, international, and pure magic.
-Anne Briggs, 2018
Ground zero for anyone discovering English folk song and culture
These are vital, transcendent recordings. Essential listening
-Living Tradition


  • First Time on Vinyl Since 1977
  • Cut at 45rpm for Optimal Sound Quality
  • Original Sleeve (with Minor Adaptations)
  • A.L. Lloyd's Extensive Track-by-Track Sleeve Notes


  1. Here We Come a-Wassailing
  2. The Derby Ram
  3. Jolly Old Hawk
  4. Pace Egging Song
  5. Seven Virgins (The Leaves of Life)
  6. The Holly Bears a Berry
  7. Hal-An-Tow
  8. Earsdon Sword Dance Song
  9. John Barleycorn
  10. Harvest Song : We Gets Up in the Morn
  11. Souling Song
  12. Christmas Is Now Drawing Near at Hand
  13. Herod and the Cock
  14. Wassail Song

Customers Also Like