Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Who Who's Next 180g LP Universal

The Who

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out of Print! Only 1 Copy Available!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 77/500!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

At the beginning of the 70s, the impact of Tommy weighed heavily on Pete Townshend's shoulders. How on earth would he and the Who top such a successful and important album? The guitarist-songwriter felt he had to take his music and its conceptual strains one step further. He began writing a futuristic fable that would transcend itself beyond the usual conventions of modern music. Intended to be a film, a play, a concert, a mega multimedia and cerebral experience - Townshend called his new project Lifehouse. And although Lifehouse would stay frozen on the blocks for another 30 years, its seeds sprouted the Who's most cohesive and consistent effort, Who's Next.

"Behind Blue Eyes," "Going Mobile" and "Bargain" all beam with epic majesty, often spiked with synthesizers — especially "Baba O'Riley," which Townshend partly named after avant-garde composer Terry Riley." -

How Townshend's ambitious follow-up ended up as Who's Next isn't easy to discern. After several false starts and a break with Who manager/mentor, Kit Lambert, the record was eventually rescued and shaped by producer/engineer, Glyn Johns. Much of Townshend's vision was contained within his extensive demos -bits and pieces of a loosely constructed storyline set against experimental melodies and basic backbeats. The album's opening track, "Baba O'Riley," was originally an elongated cycle of synthesizer loops. What it became was an anthem, highlighted by a tumultuous build, Dave Arbus' rambling violin and Roger Daltrey's acclamation of a "Teenage Wasteland." The thunder is sustained by the contagious "Bargain" - now, like so much of the Who's music, a commercial jingle. "Love Ain't For Keeping" chugs away against a fierce acoustic rhythm while John Entwistle's sole contribution of "My Wife" remains one of his most electrifying songs. "This Song Is Over" features Nicky Hopkins' incomparable piano work and ends with a chorus pulled from "Pure And Easy," the central number of Lifehouse that failed to make the final cut, but would resurface three years later on the Odds And Sods compilation. The theme is maintained on "Getting In Tune," reintroduced during the Who's most recent tour, and "Going Mobile," a track with Townshend on lead vocals that recounts a couple of Lifehouse's characters cruising the streets in a Cadillac.

It's the album's two singles that set up the grand finale. "Behind Blue Eyes" and "Won't Get Fooled Again" are adrenaline-filled powder kegs that capture the Who in their most primal state. Keith Moon's drumming is as wild as ever, yet enduringly steady. Entwistle's sturdy bass and Townshend's barking guitar rise and shift as Daltrey's signature scream radiates with emotion and authority during the climax. This is arguably one of the Who's greatest triumphs ever put on record. And indisputably one of the most definitive moments in all of rock and roll.

"'Baba O’Riley' (a.k.a. 'Teenage Wasteland') takes its name both from Townshend’s spiritual guru, Meher Baba, and minimalist composer Terry Riley, whose work inspired the track’s repetitive electronic textures. The Irish fiddle solo at the end, though, was all Keith Moon’s idea." - Rolling Stone

• Universal's 'Back To Black' Series - 60th Anniversary to Vinyl!
• Premium Audiophile Pressing
• Heavyweight 180 Gram Vinyl
• All Original Packaging

1. Baba O'Riley
2. Bargain
3. Love Ain't For Keeping
4. My Wife
5. Song Is Over
6. Getting In Tune
7. Going Mobile
8. Behind Blue Eyes
9. Won't Get Fooled Again

Customers Also Like