Genre: Electronic
Label: Primary Wave
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Pam Bricker Bebel Gilberto
Format: 33RPM,


Thievery Corporation Sounds from the Thievery Hi-Fi 180g 2LP

Thievery Corporation

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

1997 Debut Newly Remastered on 180g 2LP!

When they met in the mid-1990s, Thievery Corporation's Eric Hilton and Rob Garza instantly bonded over a shared passion for bossa nova and dub. This chance meeting in Washington, D.C. set the duo on a journey that begins in 1996 with the release of their debut studio album, Sounds from the Thievery Hi-Fi. Originally released in Germany before appearing in the US on June 7, 1997, the duo's first album set the beat for a 20+ year dance through dub, bossa nova, trip-hop, electronica, acid jazz, lounge, and laid-back grooves.

Sounds from the Thievery Hi-Fi is dedicated in memory of bossa nova pioneer Antonio Carlos Jobim. Guest vocalists include Pam Bricker and Bebel Gilberto.

A record that swings so hard and sways so gentle.
A work of deep and richly layered beauty
-The Guardian
Evokes images of sun-drenched beaches & beatific vistas...Simply gorgeous.
A floor slammer of uncommon proportions
The Corporation lead the pack.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Remastered
  • Gatefold Jacket


Side A:

  1. A Warning (Dub)
  2. 2001 Spliff Odyssey
  3. Shaolin Satellite
  4. Transcendance

Side B:

  1. Universal Highness
  2. Incident at Gate 7
  3. Scene at the Open Air Market
  4. The Glass and Bead Game

Side C:

  1. Encounter in Bahia
  2. The Foundation
  3. Interlude
  4. The Oscillator
  5. Assault on Babylon

Side D:

  1. .38.45 (A Thievery Number)
  2. One
  3. Sun, Moon, and Stars
  4. Sleeper Car

Customers Also Like