Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Anti
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Tom Waits Nighthawks At The Diner 180g 2LP

Tom Waits

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Live Album Newly Remastered On 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Pressed at RTI!

For his third release, Nighthawks At The Diner (1975), Waits recorded a double album of new music live in front of an audience at the Record Plant Studios in Los Angeles. The album features Waits setting up many songs by telling the stories behind them, a practice that remains an integral part of his live show to this day. Waits recorded this record with a jazz combo consisting of Mike Melvoin (piano), Pete Christlieb (tenor sax), Jim Hughart (bass) and Bill Goodwin (drums).

Tom Waits is an American singer-songwriter, composer and actor. Waits has a distinctive voice, described by critic Daniel Durchholz as sounding "like it was soaked in a vat of bourbon, left hanging in the smokehouse for a few months, and then taken outside and run over with a car." With this trademark growl, his incorporation of pre-rock music styles such as blues, jazz, and vaudeville, and experimental tendencies verging on industrial music, Waits has built up a distinctive musical persona. He has worked as a composer for movies and musical plays and as a supporting actor in films, including Down By Law and Bram Stoker's Dracula. He was nominated for an Academy Award for his soundtrack work on One from the Heart.

Lyrically, Waits' songs frequently present atmospheric portrayals of grotesque, often seedy characters and places - although he has also shown a penchant for more conventional ballads. He has a cult following and has influenced subsequent songwriters despite having little radio or music video support. His songs are best-known to the general public in the form of cover versions by more visible artists: "Jersey Girl", performed by Bruce Springsteen and "Downtown Train", performed by Rod Stewart. Although Waits' albums have met with mixed commercial success in his native United States, they have occasionally achieved gold album sales status in other countries. He has been nominated for a number of major music awards and has won Grammy Awards for two albums, Bone Machine and Mule Variations.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Newly remastered with Waits/Brennan
• Original artwork
• Pressed at RTI
• Mastering supervised by Gavin Lurssen
• Gatefold jacket

Side One:

1. (Opening Intro)
2. Emotional Weather Report
3. (Intro)
4. On A Foggy Night
5. (Intro)
6. Eggs And Sausage (In A Cadillac With Susan Michelson)
Side Two:
1. (Intro)
2. Better Off Without A Wife
3. Nighthawk Postcards (From Easy Street)
Side Three:
1. (Intro)
2. Warm Beer And Cold Women
3. (Intro)
4. Putnam County
5. Spare Parts I (A Nocturnal Emission)
Side Four:
1. Nobody
2. (Intro)
3. Big Joe And Phantom 309
4. Spare Parts II and Closing

Customers Also Like