Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Island
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Tom Waits The Black Rider 180g LP

Tom Waits

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

1993 Album Reissued on 180g Vinyl LP!
Remastered from the Original 1/2" Flat Master Tape by Chris Bellman!

2023 Marks 30 years since Tom Waits released The Black Rider. Originally released in 1993 on Island Records, The Black Rider is Tom Waits' 12th studio album. The Black Rider is a musical comedy/horror collaboration between artists: Robert Wilson (director/designer) writer/Beat guru, William S. Burroughs (text) and Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan (music). Not a cast album, this Island Records release is Tom's interpretation and performance of the songs he had originally created for the stage production of The Black Rider. The music is a Waitsian concoction of pop, vaudeville, rock, cabaret and blues – a brew that is strangely familiar yet absolutely fresh.

The unlikely source material is rooted in German Romantic literature and the Weber opera, Der Freischutz (although Waits' music does not quote from the Weber score), The story concerns a marksman who makes a pact with the devil (in the guise of a shadowy horseman) in order to win a shooting contest and hence claim his bride.

A cross between the musicals Cabaret and The Threepenny Opera, The Black Rider is brimming with the sort of inspired originality that can only flow from the mind of Tom Waits.

The album is newly remastered for the first time ever from the original ½" flat master tape and personally overseen by Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan. Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering under the guidance of Waits' longtime audio engineer, Karl Derfler. The album packaging has also been restored. The Black Rider includes tracks such as "November," "Russian Dance" and "The Briar And The Rose." Available on 180g black vinyl.


  • 30th Anniversary
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Remastered for the First Time Ever from the Original 1/2" Flat Master Tape
  • Personally Overseen by Tom Waits & Kathleen Brennan
  • Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Under the Guidance of Karl Derfler
  • Restored Original Album Packaging


Side One:

  1. Lucky Day Overture
  2. The Black Rider
  3. November
  4. Just the Right Bullets
  5. Black Box Theme
  6. T'ain't No Sin
  7. Flash Pan Hunter (Intro)
  8. That's the Way
  9. The Briar and the Rose
  10. Russian Dance

Side Two:

  1. Gospel Train (Orchestra)
  2. I'll Shoot the Moon
  3. Flash Pan Hunter
  4. Crossroads
  5. Gospel Train
  6. Interlude
  7. Oily Night
  8. Lucky Day
  9. The Last Rose of Summer
  10. Carnival

Customers Also Like