Genre: Soul
Label: Mack Avenue
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Tower of Power Step Up 2LP

Tower of Power

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Legendary Soul Band On Double LP!

"We knew when we went into the studio, we were going to make the best record that we could make - the best album of our career. And we did. We took it to another level." - Emilio Castillo

With a landmark 50th anniversary album, 2018's Soul Side of Town, still visible in their rearview mirror, one would think Tower of Power (or TOP, as it is more often referred to by its global legion of fans), the much-lauded creators of their own horn-based, hybrid brand of East Bay soul/funk/R&B/rock, would take a well-deserved breather. But that is not in the band's DNA, nor that of its founder and ringmaster, tenor saxophonist and bandleader Emilio Castillo.

With Step Up, the band forges on into the next decade of the 21st century, keeping to its continuous hardcore tour schedule (200 days a year!) and ongoing reinvigoration with the continual addition of new talent, most notably the phenomenal young lead vocalist, Marcus Scott, among many others. Marcus replaced TOP's longtime lead singer, Ray Greene, who makes his final appearance with the band on Step Up. Also taking his bows on the new album is 30-year TOP veteran bassist Francis 'Rocco' Prestia, who is stepping back from life on the road and whose driving fingerstyle funk is ably replaced on tour by Marc Van Wageningen.

From the band's debut up to Step Up, the Tower of Power sound remains true to Emilio's original musical vision: reach inside the deep, multidimensional well of what is broadly called soul music and bring together all its diverse components in a singular, emotional sound.

It's a dance party cut into four sides of vinyl and ideal for the sunnier days ahead.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Double LP
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Limited time digital download card


Side A:

  1. East Bay! All The Way!
  2. Step Up
  3. The Story Of You And I
  4. Who Would Have Thought?

Side B:

  1. Addicted to You
  2. Look in My Eyes
  3. You Da One

Side C:

  1. Sleeping With You Baby
  2. If It's Tea Give Me Coffee
  3. Beyond My Wildest Dreams

Side D:

  1. Any Excuse Will Do
  2. If You Wanna Be A Winner
  3. Let's Celebrate Our Love
  4. East Bay! Oaktown All The Way!

Customers Also Like