Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Island
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


U2 Songs of Surrender 180g 2LP


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Vinyl Double LP!
16 Acoustic & Reimagined Recordings from the U2 Catalog!
Curated & Produced by The Edge!

Songs of Surrender features 16 new acoustic and reimagined recordings from the U2 catalog, produced and compiled by The Edge, including "One," "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For," and "Pride (In The Name Of Love)."

"Music allows you to time travel," explained The Edge, "And we became curious to find out what it would be like to bring our early songs back with us to the present day and give them the benefit, or otherwise, of a 21st century reimagining.

"What started out as an experiment quickly developed into a personal obsession as so many of our songs yielded to a new interpretation. Intimacy replaced post punk urgency. New tempos, new keys, and in some cases new chords and new lyrics arrived. A great song, it turns out is kind of indestructible.

"The process of selecting which songs to revisit started with a series of demos. I looked at how a song would hang together if all but the bare essential elements were taken away. The other main aim was to find ways to bring intimacy into the songs, as most of them were originally written with live concert performance in mind.

"Reviewing these sketch recordings with producer Bob Ezrin, it was very easy to see the ones that worked straight off the bat and those that needed more work. We all got into the sensibility of less is more."

U2 have sold over 175 million albums, won 22 Grammy awards, and released 14 studio albums.

The 2 LP set is pressed on 180-gram vinyl with a 4-page insert featuring liner notes from The Edge.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • 16 Acoustic & Reimagined Recordings from the U2 Catalog
  • Curated & Produced by The Edge
  • 4-Page Insert with Liner Notes by The Edge
  • Made in Germany


Record One

Side One:
  1. One
  2. Where the Streets Have No Name
  3. Stories for Boys
  4. Walk On (Ukraine)
Side Two:
  1. Pride (In the Name of Love)
  2. City of Blinding Lights
  3. Ordinary Love
  4. Invisible

Record Two

Side One:
  1. Vertigo
  2. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
  3. The Fly
  4. If God Will Send His Angels
Side Two:
  1. Stay (Faraway, So Close!)
  2. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  3. I Will Follow
  4. "40"

Customers Also Like