Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Rhino
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Van Halen The Collection II: 1986-1996 5LP Box Set

Van Halen

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

5LP Box Set Featuring Newly Remastered Albums from the Hagar Era + Rarities!
Remastered from the Original Tapes by Bernie Grundman!

The Collection II spotlights Van Halen's second incarnation, with singer Sammy Hagar, guitarist Eddie Van Halen, drummer Alex Van Halen, and bassist Michael Anthony. The set includes newly remastered versions of four multi-platinum studio albums, along with a selection of rarities recorded between 1989 and 2004. All the music in the set was mastered directly from the original master tapes, a process overseen by the band's longtime engineer, Donn Landee.

The Collection II is the long-awaited sequel to The Collection, a compilation released in 2015 that focused on the six studio albums recorded by the band's original lineup, which featured singer David Lee Roth. The Collection II picks up where its predecessor left off and covers the four consecutive #1 albums released during the Hagar era: 5150 (1986), OU812 (1988), For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (1991), and Balance (1995).

The journey begins with 5150, Van Halen's seventh studio album and the band's first to claim the top spot on the Billboard 200. Certified platinum six times in the U.S., the record treated fans to hits like "Dreams," "Love Walks In," and "Why Can't This Be Love," which peaked at #3 on the Billboard Hot 100. The group returned two years later with OU812, a quadruple-platinum smash that delivered four Billboard Hot 100 hits, including "Finish What Ya Started" and "When It's Love."

The accolades continued with For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge, which earned Van Halen its first Grammy® Award for Favorite Heavy Metal/Hard Rock Album. Debuting at #1 and staying there for three weeks, the album achieved triple-platinum certification. The record produced an incredible seven singles, including hits like "Poundcake," "Top of the World," and "Right Now."

In 1993, the band released its first live album, Live: Right Here, Right Now, before returning in 1995 with Balance, its final studio album with Hagar. The album was another commercial triumph, debuting at #1, selling more than three million copies, and earning a Grammy® nomination for "The Seventh Seal."

The Collection II concludes with Studio Rarities 1989-2004, an exclusive compilation that assembles eight gems from the Hagar era for the first time. Among these rarities is "Crossing Over," the B-Side to Balance's "Can't Stop Lovin' You," and the band's only non-album B-side.

The compilation boasts other exceptional highlights, including the band's cover of Little Feat's "A Apolitical Blues" and the instrumental "Baluchitherium," which were originally left off the vinyl versions of OU812 and Balance, respectively. Additionally, the set features two songs the band contributed to the Twister Soundtrack - "Humans Being" and the Grammy®- nominated "Respect the Wind."

Rounding out the set are "It's About Time," "Up for Breakfast," and "Learning to See," which were recorded during the band's temporary reunion with Hagar in 2004. All three debuted that year on Van Halen's second greatest hits collection, The Best of Both Worlds.


  • 5LP Box Set
  • 4 Studio Albums Newly Remastered: 5150 (1986), OU812 (1988), For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (1991) & Balance (1995)
  • Exclusive Compilation of Rarities from the Hagar Era
  • All Music Remastered from the Original Tapes by Bernie Grundman
  • Mastering Process Overseen by the Band's Longtime Engineer, Donn Landee
  • Slipcase with Silver Foil Accents
  • Made in Czech Republic


5150 (1986)

Side 1:
  1. Good Enough
  2. Why Can't This Be Love
  3. Get Up
  4. Dreams
  5. Summer Nights
Side 2:
  1. Best Of Both Worlds
  2. Love Walks In
  3. "5150"
  4. Inside

OU812 (1988)

Side 1:
  1. Mine All Mine
  2. When It's Love
  3. A.F.U. (Naturally Wired)
  4. Cabo Wabo
Side 2:
  1. Source Of Infection
  2. Feels So Good
  3. Finish What Ya Started
  4. Black And Blue
  5. Sucker In A 3 Piece

For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (1991)

Side 1:
  1. Poundcake
  2. Judgement Day
  3. Spanked
  4. Runaround
  5. Pleasure Dome
Side 2:
  1. In 'N' Out
  2. Man On A Mission
  3. The Dream Is Over
  4. Right Now
  5. 316
  6. Top Of The World

Balance (1995)

Side 1:
  1. The Seventh Seal
  2. Can't Stop Lovin' You
  3. Don't Tell Me (What Love Can Do)
  4. Amsterdam
  5. Big Fat Money
  6. Doin' Time
Side 2:
  1. Aftershock
  2. Strung Out
  3. Not Enough
  4. Take Me Back (Déjà Vu)
  5. Feelin'

Studio Rarities (1989-2004)

Side 1:
  1. A Apolitical Blues
  2. Baluchitherium
  3. Crossing Over
  4. Respect The Wind
Side 2:
  1. Humans Being
  2. It's About Time
  3. Up For Breakfast
  4. Learning To See

Customers Also Like