Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Violent Femmes Add It Up (1981-1993) 2LP

Violent Femmes

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Document Of The Femmes' Rise To Fame On Double LP!
The Formative Story Of Violent Femmes As Told By Its Participants!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

American cult band of the '80s, Violent Femmes captured the essence of teen angst with remarkable precision. 40 years on, their legacy remains strong. Add It Up (1981-1993) documents the trailblazing trio's stylistic development as they rose to become one of alt-rock's most commercially successful acts. This 23-track compilation includes hits such as "American Music", live recordings of "Add It Up" and "Kiss Off", and a trove of demos, B-sides and rarities.

Perhaps the greatest mixtape band of its era
Folk-punk trio Violent Femmes occupy an unusual place, having produced an electrifying debut album that has somehow sustained them for 40 years. And while none of the records they've made since then have reached the same heights as their first, mostly due to their unwillingness to stay in one musical lane for too long, their legacy only becomes more secure with every last spin of 'Blister In The Sun' and 'Gone Daddy Gone.' This compilation, originally released in 1993, makes the strongest case for a reassessment of Violent Femmes' oeuvre. Packing rarities and b-sides along with well-known tunes, this double LP set reveals a band that ably handled political pop, country balladry, avant rock and jump blues - all of it capped off with frontman Gordon Gano's arch, angsty lyrics. So, no, it's not the greatest hits collection that the average jock rock enthusiast might want, but for fans and curious listeners, it's the ideal way to dig deeper and potentially find a new favorite among the tried and true.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Double LP
  • Lacquers cut by George Horn
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Demos, B-Sides & Rarities
  • Made in USA


Side One:

  1. Intro
  2. Waiting For The Bus
  3. Blister In The Sun
  4. Gone Daddy Gone
  5. Gordon's Message
  6. Gimme The Car

Side Two:

  1. Country Death Song
  2. Black Girls
  3. Jesus Walking On Water
  4. 36-24-36
  5. I Held Her In My Arms

Side Three:

  1. I Hate The TV
  2. America Is
  3. Old Mother Reagan
  4. Degradation
  5. Dance, M.F., Dance!
  6. Lies [Live]
  7. American Music
  8. Out The Window

Side Four:

  1. Kiss Off [Live]
  2. Add It Up [Live]
  3. Vancouver [Live]
  4. Johnny [Live]

Customers Also Like