Genre: Blues
Label: Provogue
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Sugaray Rayford Robby Krieger
Format: 33RPM,


Walter Trout Survivor Blues 2LP (Blue Vinyl)

Walter Trout

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Blue Vinyl Double LP!
Walter Trout Pays Tribute to His Favorite Blues Heroes!

Walter Trout is no ordinary artist. Survivor Blues is no ordinary covers album. From the day he conceived the project to the moment he counted off the first song in the studio, Walter Trout had a bolder plan for Survivor Blues. "I'm riding in my car sometimes," says the US blues titan. "I've got a blues station on - and here's another band doing 'Got My Mojo Workin'.' And there's a little voice in me that says, 'Does the world need another version of that song?' So I came up with an idea. I didn't want to do 'Stormy Monday' or 'Messin' with the Kid.' I didn't want to do the blues greatest hits. I wanted to do old, obscure songs that have hardly been covered. And that's how Survivor Blues started..."

When it comes to Walter Trout, survival is an understatement. Hot on the heels of his 2017 all-star hit #1 Billboard blues album, We're All in This Together, Walter knew he had high expectations to meet for a sequel. He reflects, "It was really overwhelming. How do I follow that up? I've always respected guys who went out on a limb, like Neil Young or Bob Dylan. So, I came up with this idea to cover old, obscure songs that have hardly been covered. And that's how Survivor Blues started." What resulted is a blues covers album inspired by Walter's five-decade career, and the trials and tribulations that preceded his rise to prominence.

With help from The Doors' Robby Krieger, Walter and his Virtuosic Band cover a diverse batch of songs originally recorded by blues legends B.B. King, Magic Sam, Luther "Snakeboy" Johnson, and Floyd Lee, to name a few.

While the tracklist is eclectic, there's a cohesion to Survivor Blues that harnesses the power and spirit of the originals, while keeping Walter's inimitable music personality intact. "My idea was to arrange these songs for my band and style," Walter explains, "Not to just copy the originals note-for-note."

Returning with a covers album represents an eye-opening curveball from an artist whose original songcraft has never been more acclaimed. But Walter Trout is no ordinary artist, and this is no ordinary covers album.

"In the beginning we started thinking about these enduring songs and the guys playing on the album," Walter recalls. "Mike is in recovery. Johnny almost didn't make it. Skip has had a triple bypass, and I almost didn't make it after my liver disease in 2014. We're a group of survivors. These songs are survivors."


  • Limited Edition - 1,500 Copies
  • Blue Vinyl
  • 140g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in the EU


Side A:

  1. Me, My Guitar and the Blues (Originally recorded by Jimmy Dawkins)
  2. Be Careful How You Vote (Originally recorded by Sunnyland Slim)
  3. Woman Don't Lie (feat. Sugaray Rayford) [Originally recorded by Luther "Snake Boy" Johnson]

Side B:

  1. Sadie (Originally recorded by Hound Dog Taylor)
  2. Please Love Me (Originally recorded by B.B. King)
  3. Nature's Disappearing (Originally recorded by John Mayall)

Side C:

  1. Red Sun (Originally recorded by Floyd Lee)
  2. Something Inside of Me (Originally recorded by Elmore James)
  3. It Takes Time (Originally recorded by Otis Rush)

Side D:

  1. Out of Bad Luck (Originally recorded by Magic Sam)
  2. Goin' Down to the River (feat. Robby Krieger) [Originally recorded by Mississippi Fred McDowell]
  3. God's Word (Originally recorded by J.B. Lenoir)

Customers Also Like