Wanda Jackson Encore LP (Translucent Red Vinyl)

Wanda Jackson

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Special Translucent Red Vinyl LP!
Collection Of Personal Songs From The Queen Of Rockabilly!
Includes Duets With Joan Jett & "Two Shots" Featuring Elle King!

Encore is an eight song collection produced by Joan Jett and Kenny Laguna, and is one of the most personal pieces Wanda Jackson has ever released. It is also intended to be the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member's final studio album.

"Right around the time I retired from performing and what I thought was the end of my career, I found myself back to writing songs with some of the great writers in Nashville," Jackson explained. "The songs you hear are truly my life story. This is the first time I have ever inserted so much of myself into my music. You'll get a picture of my early life and have a [peek] into the closeness that my late husband Wendell and I had in our life together. I'm happy to share this with all of you. Your constant love and support has seen me through the ups and downs of my 64-year career."

The track list contains three songs featuring Joan Jett: "Two Shots" (written by and guest-starring Elle King), "Treat Me Like A Lady" and "That's What Love Is". Also included are the songs "Big Baby", a cover of The Runaway's "You Drive Me Wild", a version of the 1962 Johnny Tillotson hit "It Keeps Right On A Hurtin'", "We Gotta Stop" and "Good Girl Down", which features vocals by Angaleena Presley and Candi Carpenter.

Says co-producer Laguna: "Real, authentic rock and roll is something you have to have inside. It can't be taught, it can't be faked. Wanda Jackson has it. Joan Jett has it. Encore has it. It is rare."

If Jackson and Jett sound like an odd match on the surface, it's immediately clear that Jett has the utmost respect for the artist at the microphone, and she's not afraid to put the right touch of growling guitar menace in the arrangements without taking the spotlight away from the star of the show. Sounding tough is second nature to Jett, and if Jackson is by her nature a bit sweeter, her vocals are still very much the work of a woman you don't want on your bad side....[Encore is] a welcome reminder that the first truly great female rocker is still among us and hasn't surrendered to time, changing tastes, or the music business. Encore confirms that Wanda Jackson is still Wanda Jackson, and that's no small feat.
-Mark Deming,


  • Translucent Red Vinyl
  • Gatefold jacket


Side A:

  1. Big Baby
  2. Two Shots (feat. Elle King and Joan Jett)
  3. You Drive Me Wild
  4. Good Girl Down (feat. Angaleena Presley and Candi Carpenter)

Side B:

  1. It Keeps Right On A Hurtin'
  2. We Gotta Stop
  3. Treat Me Like A Lady (feat. Joan Jett)
  4. That's What Love Is (feat. Joan Jett)

Customers Also Like