Wattstax: The Living Word (Live Concert Music from the Original Movie Soundtrack) 2LP

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary Edition Double LP!
Music from the Legendary 1972 Concert Featuring Isaac Hayes, Eddie Floyd, The Staple Singers & More!
Cut from the Original Analog Tapes by Chris Muth!

Analog Planet Rated 10/10 Music, 8/10 Sonics!

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic Wattstax event that took place at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum on 20th August 1972, Stax Records reissues original soundtrack album Wattstax: The Living Word. These two LPs are cut from the original tapes by Chris Muth and feature performances by Isaac Hayes, The Staple Singers, The Bar-Kays, Rufus Thomas, Carla Thomas, Albert King and more.

I think both Wattstax: The Living Word and The Living Word: Wattstax 2 sound pretty fantastic for 8-track recordings captured on the fly at a massive, one-time concert event like this — similar to Woodstock, which, for what it is, sounds pretty remarkable at times. So, don't be thrown by this numerical ranking, as these Wattstax LPs do sound really quite great, all things considered... The Bar-Kays pay homage to Redding and their lost bandmates by whipping out a searing cover of Redding's iconic 'I Can't Turn You Loose.' If there was a roof on the L.A. Memorial Stadium that day, they would have torn it off. Talk about burnin' down the house — Rufus Thomas caused the crowd to jump the fences and run onto the field to turn it into a massive, joyous dancefloor during the outstanding extended version of 'Do the Funky Chicken.' The Rance Allen Group delivers on 'Lying on the Truth,' and blues legend Albert King's set smokes too!
-Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Music 10/10, Sound 8/10


  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • Double LP
  • Cut from the Original Analog Tapes by Chris Muth
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in USA


Side A:

  1. The Staple Singers - Oh La De Da
  2. The Staple Singers - I Like the Things About Me
  3. The Staple Singers - Respect Yourself
  4. The Staple Singers - I'll Take You There
  5. Eddie Floyd - Knock on Wood
  6. Eddie Floyd - Lay Your Loving on Me Live

Side B:

  1. Carla Thomas - I Like What You're Doing (To Me)
  2. Carla Thomas - Gee Whiz
  3. Carla Thomas - I Have a God Who Loves
  4. Rufus Thomas - The Breakdown
  5. Rufus Thomas - Do the Funky Chicken
  6. Rufus Thomas - Do the Funky Penguin

Side C:

  1. The Bar-Kays - Son of Shaft / Feel It
  2. The Bar-Kays - I Can't Turn You Loose
  3. Albert King - Killing Floor
  4. Albert King - I'll Play the Blues for You
  5. Albert King - Angel of Mercy

Side D:

  1. The Soul Children - I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To
  2. The Soul Children - Hearsay
  3. Isaac Hayes - Ain't No Sunshine

Customers Also Like