Label: Fat Possum
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Waylon Jennings Honky Tonk Heroes LP

Waylon Jennings

$16.99 $17.99
(You save $1.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Vinyl LP From One Of Country Music's Favorite Outlaws! Includes "Black Rose" and "We Had It All"!

Originally released in 1973, the album Honky Tonk Heroes helped to define the outlaw country music genre.  Along with his band The Waylors, Waylon recorded this album which consisted of songs written by Billy Joe Shaver, a then-unknown songwriter. "We Had It All" was the only song not written by Shaver.

"When Waylon Jennings hooked up with songwriter Billy Joe Shaver, he found the perfect author for his obsessions, his fascinations, and his very image. Waylon had always been looking, perhaps unintentionally, for a common ground between country and rock, and Shaver's songs - sketching an outlaw stance with near defiance and borrowing rock attitude to create the hardest country tunes imaginable - were perfect. On his previous album, Waylon had sung that "ladies love outlaws", but now he found the music that would soon be called outlaw country, a defiant, ballsy blend of mythmaking and truth-telling. Shaver never had a better voice for his songs, and Jennings never had better songs for his style. Honky Tonk Heroes arrived at a crucial moment, a time when true Honky Tonk was fading, so only a dose of rock & roll could save it. And, no matter how much rock attitude is here, this is pure country in its stance and attitude - yet Honky Tonk Heroes' very defiance makes it a perfect discovery album for listeners who never thought they would like country music. And the songs! Shaver earned his stripes here, with songs that were emotional, funny, and clever, utterly bringing the mythic outlaw ethic to life. "Black Rose", "You Asked Me to", and "Honky Tonk Heroes" remain among the greatest things Waylon ever cut, and every other song here matches them. Few country albums have ever been this consistent, and few records, from any genre, have been as consistently compelling. A wonderful album - one that's hard to tire of." - Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

• Vinyl LP

Side A:

1. Honky Tonk Heroes
2. Old Five and Dimers (Like Me)
3. Willy the Wandering Gypsy and Me
4. Low Down Freedom
5. Omaha

Side B:
6. You Ask Me To
7. Ride Me Down Easy
8. Ain't No God In Mexico
9. Black Rose
10. We Had It All

Customers Also Like