Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Pleaserock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Yacht Rock Revue Hot Dads In Tight Jeans LP (Transparent Orange Vinyl)

Yacht Rock Revue

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Original Songs Inspired By The Smooth Sounds Of The '70s & '80s On Transparent Orange Vinyl LP!

What is left for Yacht Rock Revue to prove? This top-notch group of musicians has already rocked onstage with John Oates, Eddie Money, and both versions of the band Player. They've trademarked the term "yacht rock", both metaphorically and literally (U.S. Registration Number 3834195). From humble beginnings in a basement, touring in partnership with Live Nation and Sirius XM, they now headline sold-out shows across the country, from Webster Hall in New York to the Wiltern in L.A. While rising from bars to amphitheaters, they've ticked every box on the Rock Star Accomplishments bingo card. Except for one: Writing and singing their own songs.

Yacht Rock Revue's first original record, Hot Dads In Tight Jeans, aptly embodies the band in both title and in essence. An album of ten songs inspired by the smoooooth sounds of the Seventies and Eighties, Hot Dads In Tight Jeans is as plush and shiny as Kenny Loggins' beard.

Over the years, YRR have turned themselves into human wine spritzers, playing 120 to 150 shows a year, mastering Yacht Rock's slick chords and mellow grooves, and partying like it's 1979. What began as a joke among friends soon put a ripple in the zeitgeist, starting a national trend through YRR's concerts, lauded as "unabashedly joyous affairs" by Entertainment Weekly. They accumulated an extensive wardrobe of white belts and polyester shirts. Yacht Rock Revue were revered and well-compensated! Their life was a tenor sax solo! This is what every musician wants.

But even as YRR was sailing the smooth seas of tribute-band superstardom, and the band members all became dads, Nick Niespodziani, the group's singer, guitarist and spiritual leader, was still writing original songs. These new tunes had the spirit of Yacht Rock, but were more modern - akin to Phoenix or Air, the hip bands that adapted Yacht for a younger audience. They brought the songs to a hot producer, Ben Allen, who's worked with Gnarls Barkley, Animal Collective and Neon Indian. Allen gave the songs a lustrous shine, for both new audiences and their ever-loyal fans, the Nation of Smooth. Niespodziani and bandmate Pete Olson even co-wrote a song, "Big Bang", with Yacht Rock master Matthew Wilder, famous for his massive 1983 hit "Break My Stride".

"Step", the record's first single, is a peppy number replete with falsetto and bumping bass, a cross between the Bee Gees and Steely Dan's "Peg". It's also the mission statement for the album in a way, because it's about deciding who you want to be, and making space for that in your life. The seven-piece band display tight chops, and the songs incorporate Yacht Rock Revue's sense of humor, especially on the funky, pro-margarita "Bad Tequila", the flute-fired "Another Song About California" and opening track "The Doobie Bounce", where Niespodziani brags, "I used to sleep on couches/Now I sleep on nicer couches."

While others in YRR's position stick with the tried-and-true, Niespodziani hopes the album will let them welcome aboard new fans, too. To paraphrase a notable mariner... they're gonna need a bigger yacht.


  • Transparent Orange Vinyl


Side A:

  1. The Doobie Bounce
  2. Step
  3. Bad Tequila
  4. You're Welcome Baby
  5. Big Bang

Side B:

  1. Another Song About California
  2. House In the Clouds
  3. Change of Scene
  4. Can't Stop
  5. My Favorite Stardust

Customers Also Like