Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus
Format: 33RPM,


A Jazz Portrait of Charlie Mariano 180g LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
"There is so much that could be said about this album, but until the record companies consider using larger jackets, I shall be obliged to hold my enthusiasm in check. I must mention Jim Hall's masterful playing is something we have all come to expect from him. Phil Bodner, whose complete mastery of all the redd instruments makes him a one man section, and as such, he is an invaluable asset. Mel Lewis' consistently fine musicianship and his fiery propulsion to the big band tracks is more thanworthy of comment Charlie's gospel-tinged the shout, the Sebesky title tune of the album, amd Rolf Ericson's delightful jazz waltz, pretty little nieda, coupled with the standards, make for above average programming, something of a novelty in a business that has become mired in anonymity. Regiona Records should feel very proud of this contribution, and I repeat if this album doesn't scare a lot of people there is definitely something wrong with the music business." - Mort Fega, liner-notes from the original LP on Regina Records

• 180g Vinyl

Side A:

1. I Feel Pretty
2. The Wind
3. To Taiho
4. Goodbye

Side B:
5. The Shout
6. Portrait Of An Artist
7. Deep In a Dream
8. Pretty Little Nieda
9. The Song Is You

Recorded on July 25 & 26, 1963 in New York City

Customers Also Like