Genre: Classical
Additional Artists: Athens Experimental Orchestra
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Agnes Baltsa Songs My Country Taught Me 180g Import LP

Agnes Baltsa

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Audiophile Virgin Vinyl Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Mezzo-soprano Agnes Baltsa performs alongside the Athens Experimental Orchestra conducted by Stavros Xarhakos for this recording of songs from her Greek heritage. Composers include Manos Hadjidakis, Mikis Theodorakis, Stavros Xarhakos and Vasilis Tsitsanis.

In 1968 Baltsa made her first appearance as Cherubino (Le Nozze di Figaro, Mozart) at the Frankfurt Opera, followed by Octavian (Der Rosenkavalier, R. Strauss) at the Vienna State Opera in 1970. She was one of the youngest Ocativians ever at the Vienna State Opera.

From that year on, her career developed rapidly: the Deutsche Oper Berlin, various opera houses in the United States (among which the Metropolitan Opera in New York), the Bavarian State Opera (München), Govent Garden, Zürich, the Paris Opera etc. Under the guidance of Herbert von Karajan, she was a regular guest at the Salzburger Festspiele. Her repertory includes works by Mozart (Le Nozze di Figaro, Cosi fan Tutte, Requiem, etc.), Rossini (Il Barbiere di Siviglia, La Cenerentola, L'Italiana in Algeri), Mascagni (Cavalleria Rusticana), Verdi (Aida, La Forza del Destino, Il Trovatore, Don Carlo, Requiem) and Bellini (I Capuleti e I Montecchi), Donizetti (Il Campanello, Maria Stuarda), etc. But she is, of course, most famous for her performance of Carmen (Bizet), a role she has sung with José Carreras, Placido Domingo and Niel Shicoff many times.

"Baltsa brings depth and unexpected tone colours to the Theordorakis settings." - Record Review / David Nice, BBC Music Magazine (London) / 01. September 2008

• 180g Audiophile Virgin Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• From the Original Masters of Universal Music
• Audiophile Lacquer Cutting by Maarten de Boer at Emil Berliner Studios
• Analogphonic
• Import

Agnes Baltsa, vocals
Athens Experimental Orchestra
Kostas Papadopoulos, solo bouzouki
Stavros Xarhakos, conductor

Side 1:
1. Garífallo st'aftí (A carnation behind your ear)
2. Oniro pedión tis gitoniás (Dream of urban children)
3. O tahidrómos (The postman)
4. Méra Magioú (A day in May)
5. To tréno févgi stis októ (The train leaves at eight)
6. Se pótisa rodóstamo (I gave you rose-water to drink)
Side 2:
1. Stou Othona ta hrónia (When Otto was king)
2. Áspri méra ke ya mas (There will be better days, even for us)
3. Varkarólla (Barcarolle)
4. Ta tréna pou fígan (The trains which left)
5. Arhóntissa (Princess of my heart)

Customers Also Like