Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Alejandro Escovedo With These Hands Numbered Limited Edition 180g 2LP

Alejandro Escovedo

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Strict One-Time Pressing! Very Limited Quantities! Order Now Or Miss Out!
Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl Double LP!
First Time On Vinyl!

ROG issues Alejandro Escovedo's Rykodisc debut, With These Hands, on vinyl for the very first time!

Alejandro Escovedo is a Mexican-American rock musician, songwriter and singer that has been recording and touring since the late 1970s. The son of Mexican immigrants to Texas, Escovedo is from a musical family that includes several professionals, including his brothers Coke Escovedo and Pete Escovedo, and Sheila E. (Pete's daughter and Alejandro's niece). Alejandro's brother Mario fronted the hard rock band the Dragons, and another brother, Javier, was in the punk rock band, the Zeros. He began performing in the first-wave punk rock group the Nuns, with Jennifer Miro and Jeff Olener in San Francisco.

In the 1980s Escovedo moved to Austin, where he adopted a roots rock/alternative country style in the bands Rank and File and the True Believers (with his brother Javier). His first solo albums, Gravity and Thirteen Years, were released in 1992 and 1994. In 1997, Alejandro collaborated with Ryan Adams and Whiskeytown in sessions for their album Strangers Almanac. He sings on "Excuse Me While I Break My Own Heart Tonight", "Dancing with The Women at the Bar", and "Not Home Anymore". In 1995 he signed with Rykodisc and released his solo album, "With These Hands". With a bit more money at his disposal, the production on this record displays greater depth and polish and he was able to bring along a few celebrity side guests - Willie Nelson, Jennifer Warnes, and his niece Sheila E. - who add to the music without calling undue attention to themselves. In 1998 No Depression magazine named him Artist of the Decade. In 1999 he contributed to a tribute album for Skip Spence, co-founder of Moby Grape, who was critically ill with cancer. More Oar: A Tribute to the Skip Spence Album was intended to raise funds to address Spence's medical bills. Critic Rob Brunner commented, "Alejandro Escovedo offers an appropriately bleary 'Diana,' Spence's darkest song."

In 2003 after having lived with hepatitis C for many years, Alejandro collapsed on stage in Arizona. In his long road to recovery he faced substantial medical bills, which lacking medical insurance, he could not pay. Friends and admirers organized benefit shows to help. This effort grew into the album Por Vida: A Tribute to the Songs of Alejandro Escovedo, whose proceeds benefited the Alejandro Escovedo Medical and Living Expense Fund. Contributing musicians included Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, John Cale, Jennifer Warnes, Ian Hunter, The Jayhawks, Son Volt and various members of Escovedo's family.

Escovedo continues to release solo albums on various labels including Bloodshot, Blue Rose, Fantasy and Yep Roc. In 2014 he appeared in the movie and contributed to the soundtrack of the movie Veronica Mars, singing an acoustic version of "We Used to Be Friends." That same year he co-produced and co-hosted the SXSW Tribute to Lou Reed with Richard Barone.


  • Strict One-Time Pressing based on preorders received
  • Numbered, Limited Edition - 955 Copies Worldwide
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • First time on vinyl
  • Vinyl mastering by Levi Seitz at Black Belt Mastering
  • Pressed at Record Industry
  • Gatefold tip-on style jacket with insert
  • Bonus Track
  • Made in EU


Side 1:

  1. Put You Down (feat. Charlie Sexton on harmony vocals)
  2. Slip
  3. Crooked Frame

Side 2:

  1. Pissed Off 2AM
  2. Nickel And A Spoon (feat. Willie Nelson on vocals and guitar)
  3. Little Bottles

Side 3:

  1. Sometimes
  2. Guilty Was His Name (feat. Jennifer Warnes on "angel voices")
  3. Tired Skin

Sdie 4:

  1. With These Hands
  2. Tugboat (For Sterling Morrison)
  3. Can't Take It (Bonus Track)

Customers Also Like