Genre: Folk
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


American Epic: The Best of Blind Willie Johnson 180g LP

Blind Willie Johnson

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl LP!

Texas slide guitarist and gospel bluesman Blind Willie Johnson recorded only 30 songs over the course of his life as a preacher and street performer. Even so, the savvy combination of his gritty and powerful "chest voice" singing style coupled with his mastery of slide guitar (some report he regularly used a knife as a slide) has given him a notably influential legacy, specifically with later bluesmen Howlin’ Wolf and Robert Johnson. His tune "Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground" was selected for Carl Sagan’s Voyager probe Golden Record, the Library of Congress as well as the National Recording Registry.

Single LP with single pocket tip-on jacket with soft touch finish.

• 180g Vinyl

Blind Willie Johnson, vocal, guitar
Willie P. Richardson, vocal on A1, A5, A7, B2, B3, B6, B7

Side A:

1. John The Revelator
2. It's Nobody's Fault But Mine
3. If I Had My Way, I'd Tear The Building Down
4. God Moves On The Water
5. The Soul Of A Man
6. I Know His Blood Can Make Me Whole
7. Church, I'm Fully Saved Today
8. Let Your Light Shine On Me
Side B:
1. Mother's Children Have A Hard Time
2. Lord, I Just Can't Keep From Crying
3. Trouble Will Soon Be Over
4. Jesus Make Up My Dying Bed
5. Bye And Bye I'm Goin' To See The King
6. Praise God I'm Satisfied
7. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning
8. Dark Was The Night, Cold Was The Ground

Customers Also Like