Genre: Jazz


Andre Previn West Side Story XRCD2

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Click Here for Sound Samples!

Mastered by Alan Yoshida!

2020 Stereophile Magazine Record to Die For!

By the time Andre Previn, Shelly Manne & Red Mitchell recorded this album in 1959, they had set the standard for jazz versions of show and movie scores. West Side Story is not merely one of the group's best show tune albums, it is one of their finest albums, categories aside!

This album is not a masterpiece. André Previn was an astonishing polymath (Oscar-winning film composer; conductor of major symphony orchestras; badass pianist), but he was not a jazz innovator. He was an irresistible popularizer and entertainer. His ecstatic versions of eight Leonard Bernstein songs swing like crazy. (Shelly Manne and Red Mitchell, of course, also kick ass.) Previn is even more seductive when he slows down and goes all rapt, like on 'Tonight' and 'Maria.' The sound is by the great Roy DuNann. This recording is available in several formats on several labels. Spring for the JVC XRCD if you can find one.
-Thomas Conrad, Stereophile Magazine Record To Die For 2020

1. Something's Coming
2. Jet Song
3. Tonight
4. I Feel Pretty
5. Gee Officer Krupke!
6. Cool
7. Maria
8. America

Customers Also Like