Genre: Jazz
Label: Stockfisch


Andreas Rohde Analog Pearls Vol. 2 - Resonance Hybrid Stereo SACD

Andreas Rohde

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Second Re-Mastered SACD in New "Analog Pearls" Series from Stockfisch!

Stockfisch Records continues their "Analog Pearls" series with this collection of music by Andreas Rohde titled Resonance.

This is a recording that originated before the digital age - originally recorded on 2-inch 16-track tape. It portrays extraordinary recording technology and with it, exceptional musical/artistic moments.

Andreas Rohde visited the Northeim studio in 1983. It was impossible not to notice his admiration for Leo Kottke. The tuning and the selection of strings on Rohde's 12-string Gibson B-25 and the Guild F 212C sound quite like those of his idol. Of course, the lyrics and the timbre of his voice remain distinctly his own.

Stockfisch documented the state of their previous analog studio technology in numerous photographs in the booklet. For the second volume of "Analog Pearls", they played the two-track master tape on the same Telefunken M15A from which Andreas Rohde's 1983 recordings were mixed. Then the Meitner 1-bit DSD Converter managed the leap into the digital age. Thus you can hear a native 1-bit DSD Layer on the SACD. Of course this SACD contains th especial Hybrid layer as well, so you can also listen to "Analog Pearls Vol. 2" on a regular CD player, as you can with every Stockfisch SACD.

"Along with releasing newly-recorded music, Stockfish has reissued out-of-print analog titles as part of their Analog Pearls series. This recording by Andreas Rohde was recorded onto a 2-inch 16-track tape and originally released in 1983. In these performances you'll hear the influence of Leo Kottke, a guitarist Rohde openly admired. Playing a 12-string Gibson B-25 and a Guild F 212C, Rohde is a tasteful and nuanced player, but his overdubbed lead lines can also sting. The highlight of the album may be the title track, a haunting piece of music that becomes more mesmerizing each time the melody is repeated; for fun, there's a clever rendition of "The Third Man Theme"." - Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound, October 2019

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• SACD & CD Pre-mastering by Hans-jorg Maucksch at Pauler Acoustics

Andreas Rohde, 12-string guitar, vocals (3,4,6,9)
Manfred Unger, saxophone (4,9) clarinet (6)
Gallagher Doc-Watson-12 (4,5 unison over-dubbed, 9), Gibson B-25-12 (3,6,8)
Guild F 212C (1,2,7,10)

1. Busy As A Bee
2. Resonance
3. Mr. Coolman
4. Growin' Old
5. The Boomerang
6. Everytime You're Near
7. My Uncle Oswald
8. Third man Theme
9. The Time Has Come
10. Barracuda Bells

Total playing time, 39:14

Customers Also Like