Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Ani DiFranco Not A Pretty Girl 2LP

Ani DiFranco

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Newly Re-Mastered 2LP Set! First Time on Vinyl!

Up close and personally political, if Not A Pretty Girl's album artwork is any indication - this record is hot and there is no need to be "Shy" about it. Ani's thumping bass under her percussive guitar grooves are in themselves undeniable but pair that scene up with Andy Stochansky's drums/backing vocals and you have a killer record (the kind where at least one song makes it onto every mix you will make from now on). Yes, these are the songs that the audience goes into seizures to witness.

Memoir and melody are just two of the ingredients in Not A Pretty Girl's potent spell. Ani's voice soars around the sonic skyline she paints with her guitar, percussion and studio production. Fourteen lyrical stories rise up like a Phoenix, a New York City bus ride, on the gallows facing execution, the edge of a dock at sunset, a gas station rest room – songs about living and loving in a country that's being sold off from underneath her feet (well not if she can help it…) Her deftly delivered poem "Coming Up" clarifies: "and whoever's in charge up there had better take the elevator down and put more than change in our cup or else we are coming up".

Performed with the ferocity of her live shows this song collection is both guttural and buoyant: "Shy", "Not A Pretty Girl" and "Million You Never Made" are just a few packing punches. "Sorry I Am" is heavy on the heart stings as is "32 Flavors", a song that ends in a show stoppin' percussive jam.

"On Not A Pretty Girl, I wanted to really scale down sound to its essence," Ani Says. The result is not only essence but essential as well. Don't lend it to a friend cause you won't get it back.

• Double LP
• Includes download card

1. Worthy
2. Tiptoe
3. Cradle and All
4. Shy
5. Sorry I Am
6. Light of Some Kind
7. Not A Pretty Girl
8. The Million You Never Made
9. Hour Follows Hour
10. 32 Flavors
11. Asking Too Much
12. This Bouquet
13. Crime For Crime
14. Coming Up

Customers Also Like