Genre: Folk
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Ani DiFranco Ani DiFranco (2022 Reissue) 2LP

Ani DiFranco

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

30th Anniversary Edition Of Self-Titled Debut On Double LP!
Remastered With Ani Etching On 4th Side!

Ani DiFranco's first album is so revolutionary that the purveyors of status quo install women's music sections in the dusty corner of their stores in order to hide it. Dorm rooms coast to coast transform into audio dub houses where young women with aching arms scratch out hand written labels and personal letters like "you have to hear this". These quasi-booking agent and pirate distributors work long into the night purchasing greyhound tickets for a certain young Folksinger to come play at their school.

Today. Folk and poetry prevail. Vulnerable stories arm themselves as powerful songs on Ani DiFranco's self-titled first solo record. Ani's voice is rich and eloquent. Her guitar moves like an appendage. From cockroach pus to abortion rights the record doesn't flinch. This singer/songwriter Folk Mecca contains songs with an epic stage life such as, "Both Hands", "Out Of Habit", "The Slant" and "Fire Door". Live versions of these lovely tunes can be located in such divergent locations as Living In Clip and Render: Spanning Time with Ani DiFranco.

All of the tracks embody the love and humor inherent in Ani's music. Thematically this record gives a face to feminism that is both beautiful and accessible to anyone. The stories focus on relationships and humanity. We sit in the waiting room of an abortion clinic after facing an angry crowd in "Lost Woman Song". "Talk To Me Now" and "The Story" confront the inequality of the sexes in a man's world.

The love songs examine relationships with the same discernment as the political ones. "Both Hands" is a hands down favorite among any DiFranco fan. "Every Angle" infuses the thrill of protest with the joy of a crush, "thoughts of you are picketing my brain / they refuse to work such long hours without rest / in unstable conditions at best". And the unforgettably poetic and guitarific "Fire Door" is a heartfelt treat in its first studio recording.

Hair: None.
Instrumentation: Acoustic Guitar/Vocal Chords
RBR: A wee seed in the garden of songs.
Misc. The poem "The Slant" was written in Sekou Sundiata's poetry class at the New School. Sekou's own verse and style can be found in the RBR catalog of cool.
AKA: First Album

Original Release: November 1990

...she displays a writing and performing talent that is as thrilling as it is affecting.
-William Ruhlmann,


  • 30th Anniversary
  • Double LP
  • Remastered
  • Uncoated heavy stock gatefold jacket
  • White poly sleeves
  • 2-sided lyric insert
  • 4th side Ani etching


Side A:

  1. Both Hands
  2. Talk To Me Now
  3. The Slant
  4. Work Your Way Out
  5. Dog Coffee

Side B:

  1. Lost Woman Song
  2. Pale Purple
  3. Rush Hour
  4. Fire Door

Side C:

  1. The Story
  2. Every Angle
  3. Out Of Habit
  4. Letting The Telephone Ring

Side D:


Customers Also Like