Arthur Grumiaux Mendelssohn/Saint-Saens/Lalo Hybrid Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Arthur Grumiaux

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition Hybrid SACD!
Featuring ESOTERIC's Proprietary Re-Mastering Process to Achieve the Highest Level of Sound Quality!
Japanese Pressing, Deluxe Digi-pak Packaging, THE definitive Classical Performance on SACD!

Recorded May 11-14, 1960, Concertgebouw, Grote Zaal, Amsterdam [Mendelssohn]; and April 1-5, 1963, Paris [Saint Saëns, Lalo]. Violinist Arthur Grumiaux performs with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra conducted by Bernard Haitink and the Orchestre des Concerts Lamoureux conducted by Manuel Rosenthal.

The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD (SACD) technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid SACD release of historical recording selections that have been main stays of the catalog since their initial release. These new audio versions feature ESOTERIC's proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

SACD Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
SACD Re-mastering Engineer: Masaya Higashino (JVC Mastering Center Daikanyama Studio)
SACD Authoring: Atsuo Fujita (Ef Limited)


  • Limited Edition - One Time Pressing
  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • DSD Mastering
  • Deluxe digipack packaging
  • Made in Japan


Arthur Grumiaux violin
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra (1-3)
Bernard Haitink conductor (1-3)
Orchestre des Concerts Lamoureux (4-9)
Manuel Rosenthal conductor (4-9)


Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
  1. I: Allegro molto appassionato
  2. II: Andante
  3. III: Allegretto non troppo Allegro molto vivace

Camille Saint Saëns (1835-1921)

  1. Havanaise, Op. 83

Édouard Lalo (1823-1892)

Symphonie espagnole in D minor, Op. 21
  1. I: Allegro non troppo
  2. II: Scherzando (Allegro molto)
  3. III: Int ermezzo (Allegretto non troppo)
  4. IV: Andante
  5. V: Rondo (Allegro)

Customers Also Like