Azar Lawrence Summer Solstice 180g LP

Azar Lawrence

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Long Out-Of-Print 1975 Spiritual Jazz Album Reissued On 180g Vinyl LP!
All-Analog Mastering From The Original Tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!
Pressed at QRP!

Shortly after John Coltrane's death in 1967, Azar Lawrence, at just 19 years old, was chosen by Elvin Jones (for 3.5 years) then McCoy Tyner (for 5 years) to fill the shoes of Mr. Coltrane. Lawrence has also contributed as a sideman to Miles Davis, Freddie Hubbard and Woody Shaw. He has recorded and played with Miles Davis on his Dark Magus album, and wrote and recorded with Earth, Wind & Fire and Marvin Gaye to name a few!

Lawrence released Summer Solstice on Prestige Records in 1975, produced by Orrin Keepnews. It featured Raul de Souza, Gerald Hayes, Amaury Tristão, Dom Salvador, Ron Carter and Guilherme Franco on the songs "Novo Ano" and "Highway", which were composed by Amaury Tristão, and Lawrence, Souza, Albert Dailey, Carter and Billy Hart on all other selections.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Ron Carter on bass and Albert Dailey on piano
  • All-Analog mastering from the original tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Pressed at QRP
  • Jazz Dispensary Top Shelf Series
  • Made in USA


Azar Lawrence soprano and tenor sax, percussion on 1-2 and 2-2, wood flute introduction on 1-1
Raul de Souza trombone
Gerald Hayes flute on 1-2 and 2-2
Amaury Tristao acoustic guitar on 1-2 and 2-2
Dom Salvador piano on 1-2 and 2-2
Ron Carter bass
Guilherme Franco drums and percussion on 1-2 and 2-2, percussion on 1-1, voice on 1-2
Albert Dailey piano
Billy Hart drums


Side 1:

  1. From The Point Of Love
  2. Novo Ano
  3. From The Point Of Light

Side 2:

  1. Summer Solstice
  2. Highway

Customers Also Like