Bach Aria Soloists Le Dolce Sirene CD

Bach Aria Soloists

$9.99 $16.99
(You save $7.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Dynamic All-Women Force Interprets Works by Monteverdi, Handel, Mendelssohn & Bach on CD!

Reference Recordings is proud to present a very special release! Entitled Le Dolce Sirene to represent the dynamic all-women force of Bach Aria Soloists, this exciting album includes works by Monteverdi, Handel, Mendelssohn and Bach, alongside a new transcription of Cecilia McDowall's song cycle Four Shakespeare Songs.

Hailed for producing "the most surprising and brilliantly innovative collaborations in Kansas City," Bach Aria Soloists dedicates their critically acclaimed concert series to presenting the genius and relevance of Johann Sebastian Bach, his contemporaries, and those he inspired. The ensemble's repertoire is adventurous and broad, including chamber music from Renaissance to contemporary, vocal arias, tango and new living composer commissions. BAS consists of founder/Artistic Director and violinist Elizabeth Suh Lane, GRAMMY®­-winning soprano Sarah Tannehill Anderson, Elisa Williams Bickers who plays harpsichord, organ and piano and cellist Hannah Collins. Elizabeth Suh Lane calls their new recording, "a quintessential representation of our Baroque and contemporary chamber music performance. Much of it highlights our soprano Sarah Tannehill Anderson, but because of the exposed, soloistic compositional virtuosity of Bach and Handel, and the BAS treatment that we utilize for this music that begs for improvisation, it also exposes the versatility of virtuosity of all of our soloists."

Le Dolce Sirene was produced by BAS founder/Artistic Director Elizabeth Suh Lane. The album was recorded and edited by PJ Kelley of the Post Haus Acoustic, and by Kirk Patton (Mendelssohn Organ Sonata). It was mixed and mastered by multi-GRAMMY®-winning Robert Friedrich of Five/Four Productions.


  • CD
  • Recorded, Mixed & Mastered Using REVEAL Super Dimension Music Technology®
  • Digital Audio Workstation System: Merging Technologies Pyramix DAW
  • Monitored Through: EMM Labs Switchman
  • Monitor Speakers: ATC SCM 150, SCM 50 & SCM 25
  • Produced by Elizabeth Suh Lane, Artistic Director
  • Recording Engineer & Editor: PJ Kelley of The Post Haus Acoustic & Kirk Patton (Mendelssohn Organ Sonata)
  • Mixing & Mastering Engineer: Robert Friedrich of Five/Four Productions, LLC
  • Liner Notes by Steven Ledbetter
  • Album Art Director: JoAnn Nunes
  • Cover Photo: Dan White
  • Made in the U.S.A.
  • Total Time: 51:37


Elizabeth Suh Lane violin
Sarah Tannehill Anderson soprano
Elisa Williams Bickers harpsichord, organ, piano
Hannah Collins cello


Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)

  1. Si dolce è'l tormento, SV 332

George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)

  1. Rejoice Greatly from Messiah

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

  1. Sonata No. 4 for Organ, opus 65, no. 4, Allegro con brio

George Frideric Handel

  1. Süsse Stille, soprano aria with violin obligato, HWV 205

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

  1. Die Schätzbarkeit der weiten Erden, soprano aria with violin obligato, [BWV 204] (4th movement)
Sonata in G major for Violin and Continuo, BWV 1021
  1. Adagio
  2. Vivace
  3. Largo
  4. Presto

Cecilia McDowall (b.1951) - Four Shakespeare Songs

  1. What 'tis to love? (As You Like It, Act 5, scene 2)
  2. Give Me My Robe (Antony and Cleopatra, Act 5, scene 2)
  3. How should I your true love know? (Hamlet, Act 4, scene 5)
  4. First Rehearse (A Midsummer Night's Dream, Act 5, scene 1)

Bach Aria Solists

  1. La Folia Variations (improvisation)

Customers Also Like