Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Barney Wilen with the Mal Waldron Trio French Story Numbered Limited Edition 180g Import 2LP (White Vinyl)

Barney Wilen With The Mal Waldron Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Audiophile Vinyl Double LP!
Part of the Timeless Records 45th Anniversary Jazz Series!
Numbered, Limited Edition White Vinyl - 1000 Copies!

French tenor saxophonist and jazz composer Barney Wilen is best known for his contributions to soundtracks and has worked amongst jazz giants such as Miles Davis, Art Blakey and Thelonious Monk.

In 1989, he recorded French Story at Studio 44 in The Netherlands together with the Mal Waldron trio, consisting of the jazz pianist Mal Waldron, Stafford James on bass and Eddie Moore on drums. They recorded eight jazz compositions from classic French movies. For example, ''Julien Dans L'Ascenseur/Florence Sur Les Champs-Elysees'' and ''Generique'' are original compositions by Miles Davis' famous album Ascenseur Pour L'echafaud. ''Les Feuilles Mortes (Autumn Leaves)'' origins from the French film Les Portes de la Nuit and is one of Yves Montand's classic chansons.

Wilen's album was released in 1990 on the Dutch jazz label Timeless Records. In 1992, the album first appeared on vinyl, but only counted six tracks. To celebrate the 45th Anniversary of Timeless Records, the album is being reissued in its entirety and includes the tracks ''No Problem'' and ''Quiet Temple''.

French Story (Movie Themes From France) is available as a 2LP limited edition of 1,000 individually numbered copies on white colored vinyl.


  • Timeless Records 45th Anniversary Jazz Series
  • 180g Audiophile Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Classic Movie Themes from France
  • First Time Available as a 2LP, Including the Tracks "No Problem" & "Quiet Temple"
  • Sleeve Printed on Heavy Cardboard with Linen Laminate Finish
  • Import - Made in the EU
  • Limited Edition of 1000 Individually Numbered Copies on White Vinyl


Barney Wilen tenor sax, soprano sax
Mal Waldron piano
Stafford James bass
Eddie Moore drums


Side A:

  1. Un Homme Et Une Femme
  2. Julien Dans L'Ascenseur / Florence Sur Les Champs-Elysees

Side B:

  1. Les Parapluies de Cherbourg
  2. No Problem

Side C:

  1. Manhã De Carnaval
  2. Générique

Side D:

  1. Les Feuilles Mortes (Autumn Leaves)
  2. Quiet Temple

Customers Also Like