Genre: Alternative
Label: Virgin
Size: 12"
Format: 45RPM,


Ben Harper Welcome To the Cruel World 45rpm 2LP

Ben Harper

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

25th Anniversary Edition Of Debut Album On 45rpm Double LP!
Featuring "Walk Away", "Whipping Boy", "Forever" & "Waiting On An Angel"!

A quarter-century later, Ben Harper's Welcome To The Cruel World remains an especially welcomed auspicious debut that let the world at large know a singular singer/songwriter had fully arrived on the scene. Ben Harper's iconic album is re-released on standard weight double black vinyl playing at 45 rpm.

The full range of Ben Harper's influences would not come to bear until later albums, but his debut, Welcome to the Cruel World, lays a strong foundation. 'Like a King' and 'Take That Attitude to Your Grave' burn with a political conviction rarely heard during the 1990s. 'Forever' has a tenderness which demonstrates Harper's emotional range. Lackluster hippie jams that cultivated his early following may have served a purpose but feel fluffy by comparison when compared to the meatier tracks. Ben closes the album with a song that frequently closes his concerts, 'I'll Rise.' This song, built around Maya Angelou's 1979 poem 'And Still I Rise,' reminds one of art's ability to pierce through society, self, and the soul.


  • 25th Anniversary
  • Double LP
  • 45rpm
  • First time on 2LP (45rpm)
  • Gatefold jacket


Side A:

  1. The Three Of Us
  2. Whipping Boy
  3. Breakin' Down

Side B:

  1. Don't Take That Attitude To Your Grave
  2. Waiting On An Angel
  3. Mama's Got A Girlfriend Now
  4. Forever

Side C:

  1. Like A King
  2. Pleasure And Pain
  3. Walk Away

Side D:

  1. How Many Miles Must We March
  2. Welcome To The Cruel World
  3. I'll Rise

Customers Also Like